You are here: Coupons & Deals › Store Coupons › 39dollarglasses Coupons

As the largest online optical retailer or site, 39DollarGlasses.com is the most recognized and trusted name for prescription eyeglasses and sunglasses. We pioneered the idea of buying eyeglasses online, at savings of 70% below retail. Thousands of happy customers and their feedback have earned us the prestigious 5-Star rating in Yahoo! Shopping. Shop 39DollarGlasses.com for the latest eyeglass fashions in metal, plastic, semi-rimless, bendable Titanium, children’s, rimless, bifocals, progressives and prescription sunglasses.

39dollarglasses
Coupons Plus 4.0% Cash Back

Shop Now ►


Most Helpful Positive Review

3 stars

OK, but be careful

by wresnick on May 24th, 2012
I've dealt with them, and had pretty good results. They were more up front about things than some other merchants, but that is changing. One way to raise prices is to split them into two pieces and call one a "shipping fee." 39DollarGlasses didn't used to pull this scam, but now that their competitors are doing it, you end up with a backdoor price increase.

There are some other hidden things that they don't tell you about. Depending on your prescription, they may charge more. For example, Prism is a standard part of any eyeglass prescription, but they don't let you enter it. You need to put it in the comment box. Then they tell you to call them, they raise the price by 50%, and tell you that for "security purposes" they can't adjust the order, but must ask for your credit card info again over the phone. What that means is that for the additional charge, they don't apply the "smartfit rewards" and I sincerely doubt I will ever see the FatWallet cash back for that portion of it. Even if I argued the point, they would rightfully claim that I didn't make that payment on line, even though I did place the order on line exactly as it was.

Most Helpful Negative Review

1 stars

Wrong frames; less than helpful in getting the right ones

by prattboy on October 13th, 2010
The price of everything was great, but I received the wrong frames. Instead of arranging a trade where I wouldn't be without glasses for an extended period of time, they acted like they were doing me a favor by paying for sloooooow return shipping before they'd send out the right order. (Their original solution was to ship me the right frames and then I could pop out the lenses myself and put them in the right frames. No thanks; I paid for them to make sure the lenses were installed correctly). I'm just going to end up returning the whole order; they didn't seem to be interested in serving me.
Have something to say? Leave your own store review.

Most Recent Store Reviews for 39dollarglasses

5 stars

Easy process.

by robolynk on March 13th, 2014
I was impressed on how easy it is to order glasses from 39 dollar glasses. I ordered a pair of sunglasses about 2 years ago, and love them. They send you a cleaning cloth and glass kit also. I would much rather order from here than sears where my insurance requires me to go.
1 stars

Shop somewhere else for lenses.

by dcurtischurch on March 11th, 2014
This company hides this service on its homepage. That should be a warning. Twice in succession, the firm has charged me, then refused to install new lenses. I have to wait for the refund and return of the glasses.

I have gotten the message. Not interested in lens replacement.
1 stars

Slow, damaged & may charge 50% restock if you order HD lenses

by dshahn on January 6th, 2014
I ordered HD progressive lenses. They claim 5-7 business day processing. It was over 3 weeks before I received them. They arrived damaged with the nose pads very bent, the frame slightly twisted & the lenses at different angles. They were not damaged in shipping since the glass case & box were in perfect condition. They apparently have no quality control inspection. They only offer regular mail return and then they will process a replacement. When I said I don't want wait that long & choose to return for a refund I was informed since I ordered the HD lenses they typically only refund 50%. Wow. I now see that is noted by an asterisk in their return policy. I ordered from them once in the past & was satisfied, but never again. Beware the fine print if you choose to deal with them.
5 stars

Probably the best online glasses store

by Clocks on December 3rd, 2013
If find this to be the best all around online glasses store. I've tried 5-6 different websites, and have had the most luck with 39dollarglasses. Inexpensive, solid frames, and the RX is always right.
1 stars

Very poor quality, avoid

by idrosaurus on November 18th, 2013
I ordered from 39Dollar Glasses because the company I had been ordering before discontinued the stile I liked and I could not find it anywhere else. First, the glasses were $89, so the name 39Dollar glasses is totally misleading. Second, it took around 3 weeks before I received the glasses. Even then, I would not bother to right this review but today I had to glue the handle to the glasses (rimless model) maybe for the fifth time since I started to ware the them.
VERY POOR QUALITY OF PRODUCT. Don't want even bother to deal with the customer service and returns. I can imagine how bad those would be. I probably wouldn't have glasses for months.

I also was surprised to learn that somebody has already posted a happy review on 39Dollarglasses.com under my name just after the order was fulfilled (around June 29, 2013). I never got an invitation to submit a review. I tried to change the rating on the website from 5 stars to 1 but the software wouldn't allow me to do that.

Please avoid this seller at all means
1 stars

garbage frames

by scottluchesi on August 23rd, 2013
Ordered the "bendable titanium" frames and after about 6 months, the bridge snapped WHILE I WAS CLEANING THE LENSES. They sent me a new frame and after about another 6 months, the bridge snapped again WHILE I WAS CLEANING THE LENSES. Of course, since it was 12 months after the initial order, there was no coverage. Apparently "bendable" does not apply to the strenuous activity of wiping the lenses. Add to this that frames I got for my wife also broke after a couple of months and you can see the quality of their product. They exemplify the phrase "you get what you pay for" - you buy garbage, you get garbage
1 stars

WORST EVER

by zealousshopper on June 25th, 2013
I wear prescription glasses. I can't do without them. I wanted to get some prescription sun-glasses. As i googled, this website popped up. 39dollar glasses...should have guessed how bad they must be from their name. When I received the order, the glasses looked bad, were too small than shown on the website... It wouldn;t even fit my son's face. I wrote them an email and they created a return label. I returned it within a week. The label was created from USPS. it reached them about 2 weeks later. The website says that there will be a partial refund if the return package reaches later than 30 days. My package reached on the 32nd day. They emailed saying that I will still be given a partial refund which is less than half of what i payed for the crappy glasses.Please don't fall for their trap. Stay away from these guys
1 stars

Terrible customer service, quality cheap

by tblakecus on February 4th, 2013
I received a pair of glasses and was very disappointed in the quality. Also, their customer service has much to be desired. My first call, I was on hold over 20 minutes. My second attempt to reach them was another hold for over 20 minutes. There are several other online optical sites to purchase eyeglass with professional customer service. Don't waste your time with this place.
1 stars

Quality? Not with these guys!

by acroat on December 27th, 2012
I ordered 2 sets of lenses from this website and both orders were problematic. 1st order had an Anti-reflective coating which began to chip away on the left lens after a year. This is on a pair of glasses which I stored in a case in my laptop backpack 99% of the time and rarely used to see the projector in meetings. 39DG refused to credit/replace/refund anything as it was past their warranty period.
My 2nd order was for a pair of tinted prescription glasses (no AR coating this time) and they screwed up again and sent me clear ones - it took them about a month to make them. Another month later, and I had my tinted lenses.
I thought I'd give them one last chance to get things right, so I attempted to place an order before the end of the year. I kept getting error screens, info missing screens, wrong prescription info popping up and finally when I managed to navigate my way to the checkout screen on their problematic website, their FSA15 15% discount code did NOT work. UNBELIEVABLE - it's advertized on their landing page for God's sake!
I'm DONE with this company - off to eyeglasslensdirect and hopefully a better experience.
5 stars

Good value and fast delivery

by Jacob0 on August 16th, 2012
Ordered Thursday evening and my glasses were manufactured and shipped by Monday morning, arrived Wednesday morning (shipping was $5.95, priority mail), and cashback came in (available to cash out) on Thursday morning! The quality of the glasses and the accuracy of the prescription both seem good.

Get an extra $15 off with code EYE15 (posted on their twitter).
2 stars

Update

by wresnick on May 24th, 2012
I already reviewed this store and mentioned their shady practice of setting up the website so it can't collect the entire amount of the order, and then requires you to call in and give your credit card number again. It turned out to be worse than that. Their policy is SUPPOSED TO BE that you don't pay shipping on an order over $100. But if their system charges you less than that, you have to call up and pay additional money, and your order ends up being over $100, then they argue that you are not entitled to free shipping because "that's for website orders only." I placed my entire order on the website. I didn't make any changes to what I ordered on the website. I merely paid for it. This is turning into more of a scam. In fairness, this has been sent to their billing department so it's possible that they will change their minds. But for now, it seems like a scam.
3 stars

Not bad but shop around

by netstroller on October 17th, 2011
I went with them mostly because their competitors carry few if any frames with spring hinges. The quality of the frame I bought is fair, will have to see how it does in the long run. The lens' edges were not polished and it was advertised that they would be. Not a big deal, as others usually don't polish, but it was a little disappointing to see they were not polish after I was lead to believe they would be. Glasses came with a small fingerprint that cleaned off easily.

I bought mine with progressive lens and they seem fine, though in hind sight I probably should not have paid $40 to upgrade one step up. I don't notice any benefits, but I don't know how it compares to their basic lens. I do have experience with other progressive lens though.

Overall, I paid about $139 for this pair (without any coatings, before any insurance reimbursement I might be getting back. This is about twice as much as the next most expensive glasses I've bought over the Internet, which was also progressives. I would buy from them again, buy only if I can't find anything I like better from others such as optical4less and zennioptical.
3 stars

Adequate glasses, poor service

by wresnick on February 1st, 2011
39Dollar glasses offers a good selection of glasses at a moderate price. The quality of the frames is not great, but is in line with the price. There is no choice for lens material. Competitors offer CR-39 plastic, but 39Dollarglasses offers only polycarbonate. While it's true that opticians typically charge more for polycarbonate, it's one of the worst materials optically. I'd rather be given a choice of something that corrects my vision better. Some people can't tell the difference, but it can be dramatic.

Prices are reasonable, especially with coupons that might be available through Fatwallet. But I was able to get glasses substantially cheaper through another merchant with a better fatwallet offer, so shop around.

Shipping is also reasonable, and was "free" when I purchased two pairs. The return policy is liberal. Competing companies lower the price artificially and raise it back up by calling part of the price "shipping." That means that if you want a refund from a competitor, the "shipping" charge is really an extra restocking fee.

The only real problems I had were with delivery and customer service. When the glasses did not arrive when expected, I contacted support. They sent me an email with the tracking number I already had, linking to the USPS and showing no evidence that it had been shipped. They told me that if I did not get the glasses by the end of the week, I should write back, which I did. The glasses finally came by first class mail (2-3 days typical service) fourteen days after they prepared the shipping label and claimed it was shipped. They finally responded to my second email with the obvious and pointless statement that the glasses had been delivered to me by then.

People blame the post office all the time, but they deliver hundreds of millions of items daily and it's extremely rare for a package to get lost. That's especially true with electronically printed bar coded labels. USPS does not guarantee that they will scan the label when they first receive the package, but they typically do. It's possible that 39DG sent the package when they claimed, but I'm skeptical. Out of fairness, I won't lower the rating because of it. I might chance using them again, but their price no longer sets them apart from the competition the way it once did.
5 stars

high quality frames, fast shipping

by tl2005 on October 14th, 2010
I bought 2 pairs of glasses 2 years apart from 39dollarglasses.com. The frames are much higher quality than those offered by another internet retailer that I used in the past. Also, the $39 price includes the 1.59 polycarbonate lenses that others charge at least $10 extra for. I bought the latest pair after a FW coupon for just $24 shipped.

The prescription is also spot on and shipping was super quick. I received the glasses in less than a week.
5 stars

The days of buying $200 glasses are over for me

by AIM on September 15th, 2010
I have throughout the past 5 years bought at least 6 pairs of glasses from this vendor. Unequivocally I can vouch for them. Price, quality, and service have been top notch for me. When I first bought a pair I was reluctant but I said to myself, self you can make a $39 mistake or you can purchase 4 pair of glasses. One out of four must be a good one.

TRUSTe online privacy certification

While FatWallet makes every effort to post correct information, offers are subject to change without notice.
Some exclusions may apply based upon merchant policies.
© 1999-2014