Cheap way to learn how to drive?

Archived From: Deal Discussion
  • Page :
  • Text Only
rated:
Hey guys,

Im a college student and want to learn how to drive. I will self-study the written test. However, driving lessons are really expensive! They are $40 per hour and I'd probably have to go for 5-10 classes!

Anyone have any ideas?

Member Summary
Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.

Get a buddy willing to teach you. Auto transmission is a piece of cake. And with every car having power steering and power brakes even easier. If you have a car it would be better... Find a big open field or empty parking lot to get used to control the car. Then slowly go on the roads and eventually the highways. That's how I learned...

Go to an arcade and play a driving game. Lesson learned.

When I learned to drive, my car insurance company gave me a discount for taking a driving class which more than made up for the cost of the class. YMMV.

BradMajors said:   When I learned to drive, my car insurance company gave me a discount for taking a driving class which more than made up for the cost of the class. YMMV.

That sounds like a defensive driving course, which doesn't involve any real driving.

In Driver's Ed in high school, we didn't even drive for more than 2 hours in the car. Though I second the find a friend to teach you option or find some kid on campus that needs cash for beer and offer like $15-$20/hr.

If you can not find anyone with a car how about learning to drive using either a go kart or a golf cart?

YouTube driving lesson videos aren't a bad starting point.