Where to buy new water heater?

Archived From: Deal Discussion
  • Page :
  • Text Only
rated:
I need to replace my current 9 year warranty/40 gallon gas water heater. I'm rather new to this process so I'd like to get your thoughts and experiences.

Is Home Depot a good place to buy the water heater and do their service people do a good job with installation?
Ballpark range how much should I expect to pay? Also, what's the typical installation fee or does HD install for free like their other appliances?

Thanks in advance for reading my post. Your advice is much appreciated!

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
For what it's worth, there are only a handful of major manufacturers that actually make tank water heaters:
American Wate... (more)

Jason986 (Dec. 18, 2011 @ 1:56a) |

I used to live near a Lowe's and a Home Depot that were almost next to one another and quit going ot the Lowe's after a ... (more)

larrymoencurly (Dec. 18, 2011 @ 5:30p) |

Ouch! What kind of water heater was that?

comprx (Dec. 18, 2011 @ 9:57p) |

Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

All of the above will depend on where you live. Home Depot may be good if you like the water heaters they sell. Installation is pretty routine. Depending on where you live you may need a permit from your town & need to pay a permit fee. You may need to have extra work to bring your water heater connection up to code. I am sure Home Depot & Sears both charge for installation and they will not get permits for you if you need them. You can get a quote & then find a local plumber to see if the cost is close to what the plumber charges. My guess is you are looking at around 1K all in.