Breyer's no longer makes Ice Cream

Archived From: Deal Discussion
  • Go to page :
  • 1 234
  • Text Only
rated:
Breyer's no longer manufactures ice cream but instead makes something called "Frozen Dairy Dessert" which is cheaper to produce. The cartons no longer say Natural Ice Cream in big letters, but says Frozen Dairy Dessert in tiny letters on the bottom. Of course, they shrunk the carton to 1.5 quarts from a half gallon long ago, while keeping the same price. Anyone who buys this Frozen Dairy Dessert has got to be crazy with all the additives and fillers they use to save money. I bought two cartons yesterday at Publix, and will go back to the store and get a refund for both cartons, even though I tried a couple of spoonfuls of their Cherry Vanilla. The store employees can finish the rest of the carton as far as I am concerned. It is practically inedible. I have been enjoying Breyer's Ice Cream for 30 years, but will not touch it since they pulled a "fast one" on the consumer. FYI

http://www.beachstreetnews.com/what-happened-to-breyers-ice-crea...

Member Summary

Breyer's (11.86kB)
Thanks Neilium
Disclaimer
Most Recent Posts
So since people have been talking about making their own ice cream. I've been making my own froyo (0% fat greek yogurt,... (more)

russ0519 (Jan. 02, 2013 @ 2:35p) |

WAIT....you mean, I've been eating beaver?????

Sonofspam (Jan. 03, 2013 @ 6:43a) |

Raise the temperature of the freezer a little bit.

MitchFlorida (Jan. 03, 2013 @ 7:15a) |

Since the OP will not correct the FALSEHOOD in the thread title, I put it here: While Breyer's also makes a concoction called "frozen dairy dessert," which can be debated regarding its quality, and some flavors that once were ice cream are now being made as froze dairy dessert, BREYER'S DOES INDEED STILL MAKE ICE CREAM!

-A public service announcement from someone who is not shilling for Breyer's, merely someone who is interested in basic factual integrity.