Learning Java

Archived From: Deal Discussion
  • Page :
  • Text Only
rated:
I've always been interested in programming and developing, but it's hard to know where to get started. I'd like advice on resources for learning Java - preferably free and open source resources. Keep in mind that I have no experience with programming--although I'm familiar with the basics of html.

Is Java the right place to get started if I want to learn about programming?

My attitude toward programming is: My day job revolves around spreadsheets and powerpoint presentations, programming would be a nice skillset to have and fun to learn on the side.

Member Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

ummmm how is this fatwallet finance related?

ummmm how is this fatwallet related?

I'm certain there's a place called "public library" near where you live. Go there and browse.

coursera.org and edex.org are offering several free intro-to-programming courses with Python, which is "the language of choice for beginners and experts alike" according to the above-cited codecademy.com. I don't know how Python relates to Java but it might be a good place to start.

Java is hot for only certain area in computer science. For examples, Android app, server programs like Hadoop. Maybe you should start with scripts instead of Java since you are beginner without programming background.

Ivor Horton's Beginning Java eBook for $18.
Java Tutorials - free, and straight from the horse's mouth, but harder for complete beginners.
BTW, this discussion probably belongs to the Technology forum, no?

non-deal related

coupons2828 said:   I've always been interested in programming and developing, but it's hard to know where to get started. I'd like advice on resources for learning Java - preferably free and open source resources. Keep in mind that I have no experience with programming--although I'm familiar with the basics of html.