Long Term Hotel Stay. How to get a better deal?

Archived From: Deal Discussion
  • Page :
  • Text Only
rated:
I will be staying at a hotel in Ohio for 95 days.I did some research and please provide your feedback / opinion so that this topic can become a guideline for others.
I will be staying at Marriott Towneplace

1-)Bargaining Price with local hotel manager
I have no experience on this yet.Your feedback is highly appreciated for step #1

2-) Complimentary room upgrade
Most hotels upgrade your room for free (usually) if you stay more than 2-3 weeks.
I am hoping to get a free upgrade to a 1bedroom suite from a studio unit.

3-)Saving via Payment Method
-Plastic Jungle offers 6.5 discount on Marriot and most hotel gift cards.
-Citi Thank you points also offer 1on1 deal on $100 gift certificates.
-You can find gift cards on eBay with 5% off.

4-)Tax
In most states, after the 30th night, you are not obligated to pay sales tax for your stay and you will get a refund for the first 30 nights. It is the state tax code.

5-)Comfort Level related issues
Unfortunately there is no code for noise standard in a room. Some refrigerators may be very noisy and you may wake up in the middle of the night.I usually set the fan low in AC unit and leave it on.

6-) Apartment Option
No place offers short term lease for 3 months. I offered 2X rent. No luck.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
That's not what I would call a per diem, then. That's a travel advance. Per diem is a flat rate and it's up to the emplo... (more)

crhptic (Jan. 01, 2013 @ 5:51p) |

I hope you know what it really means..... right?

wfay (Jan. 01, 2013 @ 10:54p) |

I used Priceline extensively when I had to live in Texas for 3 months, 2 years ago. The hotel I lived in was Homestead
... (more)

arsenalfan (Jan. 15, 2013 @ 2:52p) |

Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.