• filter:
  • Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
rated:
I was just about to use my new cc account coupon to order a SodaStream machine on WalMart.com, and I see that most (though admittedly not all) of the syrups and accessories (like extra bottles) are on clearance. (They are also sold out, which is why I'm posting this in discussion, rather than Hot Deals.) Does anyone know anything about this? Is SodaStream going under or is Wal-Mart just phasing out their stuff? Has anyone seen these clearance prices reflected inside the B&M stores?

Member Summary

sodastream (12.79kB)
Thanks bhansonbot
Disclaimer
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
I'm by no means an expert, but I've heard rumblings on the Finance forum that SodaStream wasn't doing well as far as stocks go. But then again, it could be a completely non-stock reason, like they are just getting rid of their summer stock.

rated:

rated:
I got one a year ago for ~$50, did the upgrade to the 32oz co2, and refill it with dry ice about every 3-4mo for ~$4. (takes about 4-5lbs to get the 2lbs needed to fill it up with evap losses)
I make my own ginger ale syrup from bulk stevia and ginger root boiled in water. ($55/lb but 1tsp = ~1c sugar. It lasts and lasts and lasts)
Great tasting and low cal.
I would say get the unit and maybe an couple of extra 1L bottles if you find them on a really good sale.

I don't think they are going under. They are just not a big seller at $100 for the unit and $30 for a regular refill.
WalMart probably has more profitable items for the same shelf space.

rated:
IIRC, I read somewhere that one of the large beverage companies was looking at acquiring SodaStream.

rated:
Coke and Keurig are teaming up to provide Coke products at home, soooooooo ...... Sodastream has had its run, IMO.

rated: