Expired cash card, can I get the money back?

Archived From: Deal Discussion
  • Page :
  • Text Only
rated:
I am not a newbie to rebate, but some recent experience really makes me look awkward. I purchased two cell phones with Cingular rebates, $200 total, and got the rebates in the form of two VISA cash cards late August.

The cards are issued by "Swift Prepaid Card" service, and the expiration date embossed on the front of the cards are "10/07". Without reading the small prints, I thought the card will expired in July, 2010, as I assumed no decent cash card will expire in a little more than two months. Not in a hurry, I put the cards into drawer, and even didn't bother to activate them. However, I am wrong! Recently when I think about the cards, and tried to activate them, I was told they have expired! --- on the last day of October 2007, and the $200 is gone! The customer service suggest me to talk to their manager concerning this problem.

Does anyone here have similar experience like this? What should I talk to their manager tomorrow? Is there any chance for me to claim back the money? Many thanks for your hints and help!

Anyway, next time, I will immediately buy some WalMart/Target gift card....

Member Summary
Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

Anyone got some hints? Thanks!

So you snooze...you lose!
What do you expect someone in a forum to be able to do for you other than suggest what you plan on doing...call and see if they will help. You might and probably should learn a valuable lesson ($200 worth) to look at the rebates when they come to see what the expiration days are.