So I saw a add for a 2006 Honda Civic for $5350. Sounds too good to be true, so I email the person to check if this was real. Below is his reply, sounds like a scam to me. What do you guys think:
Hi, I'm Gary Rodgers, you inquired about my 2006 Honda Civic EX Coupe (VIN: 2HGFG11886H508206). I apologize for the delay, I'm in the military and now I am in United Kingdom and that's why I couldn't reply in time. If you are still interested in buying it, I'm asking $5,350. It has a clean title, very well maintained, always garage kept, no rust, excellent condition, runs and sounds 100% perfect with no leaks or noises. All power and optional equipments are working perfect. I have to sell this car as fast as I can because in three weeks I will be in Iraq and I think I'll stay there for a while that's why I'm selling it so cheap. I intend to buy a new car when I'll get back home. If you want to buy the car, I can ship for free within US with one of our military airplanes so you don't have to worry about the distance. If you are interested we can use a third party escrow broker, ProtegePay ( http://www.protegepay.com ), to secure the transaction and to handle this whole process for us. Using a reputable E-Commerce third party escrow company will secure the transaction and you will receive the car before I'll get paid and of course I'm also covered because the funds will be kept safety into the escrow account. This is the best way for me even if I'll have to pay some extra money for their services. I'll cover the broker's fee and like I've explained, the shipping will be free because I can use one of our airplanes here and I don't have to pay anything. Let me know if you are interested. You can see some pics on the following link from my personal page: http://picasaweb.google.com/grdgrs/06CivicEX You'll love the car, I can guarantee you that!
Searching for the VIN on google took me to a another site with a different color car asking for 17k. Looks like someone wants to steal my money. Any recommendations
To enter a coupon code in your post please enter the following info:
Coupon Code:
Coupon Offer:
Merchant:
Expires (optional):
Restrictions (optional):
saving...
Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.
mark287
Tired Member
posted: Jan. 14, 2008 @ 7:18p
scam.
Pdamania
Member
posted: Jan. 14, 2008 @ 7:19p
Yea I thought so, any way to be sure.
zapjb
Senior Member
posted: Jan. 14, 2008 @ 7:23p
escrow company (any) makes it 100% SCAM!
Semarin
Senior Member - 9K
posted: Jan. 14, 2008 @ 7:25p
And look at the whois on the escrow site he gave you. Lol, sure thing, send money now!!!
Domain name: protegepay.com
Creation date: 12 Jan 2008 13:53:47 Expiration date: 12 Jan 2009 13:53:47
Registrant Contact:
Shaun Hoback (prkr79@googlemail.com) +1.4499046301 Fax: +1.4499046301 2347 Leonard Rd Grants Pass, OR 97527 US
Administrative Contact:
Shaun Hoback (prkr79@googlemail.com) +1.4499046301 Fax: +1.4499046301 2347 Leonard Rd Grants Pass, OR 97527 US
Technical Contact:
Shaun Hoback (prkr79@googlemail.com) +1.4499046301 Fax: +1.4499046301 2347 Leonard Rd Grants Pass, OR 97527 US
Status: Locked
Name Servers: ns.blacknightsolutions.com ns2.blacknightsolutions.com
Pdamania
Member
posted: Jan. 14, 2008 @ 7:41p
Thank you everyone. I would make sure I stay away from this guy.
redsox9547
Senior Member
posted: Jan. 14, 2008 @ 7:44p
Pdamania said:So I saw a add for a 2006 Honda Civic for $5350. Sounds too good to be true, so I email the person to check if this was real. Below is his reply, sounds like a scam to me. What do you guys think:
Hi, I'm Gary Rodgers, you inquired about my 2006 Honda Civic EX Coupe (VIN: 2HGFG11886H508206). I apologize for the delay, I'm in the military and now I am in United Kingdom and that's why I couldn't reply in time. If you are still interested in buying it, I'm asking $5,350. It has a clean title, very well maintained, always garage kept, no rust, excellent condition, runs and sounds 100% perfect with no leaks or noises. All power and optional equipments are working perfect. I have to sell this car as fast as I can because in three weeks I will be in Iraq and I think I'll stay there for a while that's why I'm selling it so cheap. I intend to buy a new car when I'll get back home. If you want to buy the car, I can ship for free within US with one of our military airplanes so you don't have to worry about the distance. If you are interested we can use a third party escrow broker, ProtegePay ( http://www.protegepay.com ), to secure the transaction and to handle this whole process for us. Using a reputable E-Commerce third party escrow company will secure the transaction and you will receive the car before I'll get paid and of course I'm also covered because the funds will be kept safety into the escrow account. This is the best way for me even if I'll have to pay some extra money for their services. I'll cover the broker's fee and like I've explained, the shipping will be free because I can use one of our airplanes here and I don't have to pay anything. Let me know if you are interested. You can see some pics on the following link from my personal page: http://picasaweb.google.com/grdgrs/06CivicEX You'll love the car, I can guarantee you that!
Searching for the VIN on google took me to a another site with a different color car asking for 17k. Looks like someone wants to steal my money. Any recommendations
Being in the military I know this, when you ship a car, it goes on a SURFACE SHIP via 3rd party commercial company. The governent doesn't use it's space on cars to ship cars, tanks going to Baghdad go in there...
100% SCAM!!
PMonkeyDishwasher
Senior Member - 2K
posted: Jan. 14, 2008 @ 7:55p
Pdamania said:Yea I thought so, any way to be sure. If you want proof that it's a scam, tell him that you want to go with your own lawyer as an escrow agent, then see what the guy says. Try to act surprised when there's some reason he insists on using his escrow company.
danorthface
Senior Member - 1K
posted: Jan. 14, 2008 @ 9:08p
PMonkeyDishwasher said:Pdamania said:Yea I thought so, any way to be sure. If you want proof that it's a scam, tell him that you want to go with your own lawyer as an escrow agent, then see what the guy says. Try to act surprised when there's some reason he insists on using his escrow company.
why waste your time.. i've seen these messages plenty of times. Just need to read the first sentence
cmcdan1524
Greedy Member
posted: Jan. 14, 2008 @ 9:20p
Somebody should contact the Grants Pass police department. That would be a rude awakening for this butt.
showmeabargain
Member
posted: Jan. 14, 2008 @ 9:45p
RUN.......DON'T WALK AWAY FROM THIS.......ANYTIME SOMEONE SAYS THEY ARE "OUT OF THE COUNTRY" THIS MEANS SCAM!!!!!!!!! JUST LIKE THOSE IDIOTIC NIGERIAN SCHEMES THAT DOPES FALL FOR!!!!!!!
just replace "fake cashier's check" with "fake escrow company"
austinmorris
Member
posted: Jan. 14, 2008 @ 11:49p
I would respond to the seller: DEAR SIR, I AM VERY INTERESTED IN YOUR ITEM BUT IAM CURRENTLY OUT OF THE COUNTRY, CAN YOU SHIP THE ITEM TO MY SON WHO IS STUDYING AT THE UNIVERSITY OF LAGOS, NIGERIA. I WILL PAY FOR THE EXTRA SHIPPING COST AND I WILL SEND YOU THE MONEY ORDER IN THE AMOUNT OF $12000. GET BACK TO ME AS I WOULD LIKE TO HEAR FROM YOU. GOD BLESS
inda
Ancient Member
posted: Jan. 14, 2008 @ 11:55p
You should reply back asking for his military email address and base name to send him 'confidential' info regarding such a purchase.
mgupta001
Member
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 12:41a
Guyz, you wouldn'r believe this .. once i was selling some item on craigslist and kept getting same scam mail to send them my full name and address. so that they can send me a check. I got so irritated that i decided to give them some address and i gave them George Bush's white house address and phone number. and those dumb people still sent the checks to white house address .. I am sure now FBI must have been looking for all these scammers.
JassieB
Happy Member
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 12:54a
I like how the "escrow" website has some official-sounding rules, take for instance this one:
Be careful for fake escrow and the real McCoy, the latter is the one that you should trust.
amit007
Happy Member
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 7:07a
100 % SCAM, STAY AWAY.
drew2money
Addicted Member
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 8:15a
Pdamania said:Yea I thought so, any way to be sure.
If it sounds to good to be true, and you have ask a bunch of nuts on line what they think? That is how you know.
Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.