|
-
-
customerXIII
- Addicted Member
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 10:21a
Ask him to post a pic of the VIN from the car |
-
-
computerquest
- Senior Member - 1K
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 10:46a
I actually got an identical email for a 2004 Toyota Sienna when I was looking for a van in 2005. I would purchase from eBay before I would go any further with this deal. |
-
-
scareyou2
- Happy Member
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 10:53a
It's interesting that if you Google ProtegePay, the only listing that comes up is this FatWallet post. Shirley, one would expect an escrow site to have some type of web presence in the major search engines. OP, where did you find the ad for this vehicle? At the least, I would report the ad to the hosting site as being potentially fraudulent. I personally liked the response from PMonkeyDishwasher regarding asking the seller to use an attorney as the escrow agent. Even though it could be a waste of time, reading what the seller might have to say in response to such a proposal might prove interesting reading. |
-
-
PMonkeyDishwasher
- Senior Member - 2K
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 11:59a
danorthface said:PMonkeyDishwasher said:If you want proof that it's a scam, tell him that you want to go with your own lawyer as an escrow agent, then see what the guy says. Try to act surprised when there's some reason he insists on using his escrow company.  why waste your time.. i've seen these messages plenty of times. Just need to read the first sentence It's clearly a waste of time. It would just be entertaining to hear the guy's excuses. |
-
-
IndianABCD
- New Member
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 12:34p
THIS IS A SCAM!!!!!!!! I ALMOST went through sending the money for exactly the same car. I saw your posting and STOPPED. THANKS FOR saving me the money. I called the delearship up and they have received 3 such calls on the same vehicle. BE CAREFUL |
-
-
DrDevil
- Shopaholic Member
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 12:57p
-even if it is true and the guy is genuine, would you go and buy a car without seeing it first, just because he says it is good!! -you even got another car with the same VIN number at a dealership (after googling it) which sounds more genuine than this guy, still you want to confirm whether this posting is a scam or not. and this guy "IndianABCD" almost sent the money also...hats off man!!either you have lots of extra cash or I could not get the sarcasm. |
-
-
WillyNilly
- Senior Member - 2K
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 1:42p
DrDevil said:-even if it is true and the guy is genuine, would you go and buy a car without seeing it first, just because he says it is good!! -you even got another car with the same VIN number at a dealership (after googling it) which sounds more genuine than this guy, still you want to confirm whether this posting is a scam or not.
and this guy "IndianABCD" almost sent the money also...hats off man!!either you have lots of extra cash or I could not get the sarcasm. http://www.earnhardt.com/carDetail.cfm?v=2HGFG11886H508206 2006 Honda Civic Coupe EX MT Located at: Earnhardt Honda Avondale Auto Mall, Avondale, AZ 85323 |
-
-
DrDevil
- Shopaholic Member
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 2:28p
WillyNilly said:DrDevil said:-even if it is true and the guy is genuine, would you go and buy a car without seeing it first, just because he says it is good!! -you even got another car with the same VIN number at a dealership (after googling it) which sounds more genuine than this guy, still you want to confirm whether this posting is a scam or not.
and this guy "IndianABCD" almost sent the money also...hats off man!!either you have lots of extra cash or I could not get the sarcasm. http://www.earnhardt.com/carDetail.cfm?v=2HGFG11886H508206
2006 Honda Civic Coupe EX MT Located at: Earnhardt Honda Avondale Auto Mall, Avondale, AZ 85323 --------------------- So?? I found it too. |
-
-
DenverDiver
- Senior Member - 3K
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 2:34p
I especially like the ones selling in Denver CL with pictures of a car with palm trees in the background  |
-
-
scareyou2
- Happy Member
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 2:46p
mgupta001 said:Guyz, you wouldn'r believe this .. once i was selling some item on craigslist and kept getting same scam mail to send them my full name and address. so that they can send me a check. I got so irritated that i decided to give them some address and i gave them George Bush's white house address and phone number. and those dumb people still sent the checks to white house address .. I am sure now FBI must have been looking for all these scammers. How do you know the scammers sent a check to the White House? Did you call to verify? |
-
-
WillyNilly
- Senior Member - 2K
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 3:32p
DrDevil said:So?? I found it too.wasn't trying to steal your thunder -- figure I'd save everybody else the trouble of googling it and provide a url  |
-
-
LAwoodtiger
- Ancient Member
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 4:12p
My general rule on this is: If you have to ask... |
-
-
gizmotoy
- Senior Member
posted: Jan. 15, 2008 @ 4:54p
Asking $5k on a car that sold new less than 2 years ago for $19k means it's either a mangled mess of parts that vaguely resemble a car or a scam. Either way, you don't want it  |
-
-
shaunh
- New Member
posted: Apr. 13, 2008 @ 8:32p
I am the one listed in the whois information and please be assured this is a scam, the "escrow" website was created using my stolen identity, it was shut down by black knight Internet as soon as I found out and let them know what was going on. |
-
-
mjarvis2000
- New Member
posted: Apr. 17, 2008 @ 11:35a
And wouldn't it be illegal for someone in the military to transport a personal vehicle on a miltary cargo plane? There might be more information on http://www.carfax.com/cfm/check_order.cfm?VIN=2hgfg11886h508206&PopUpStatus=0&partner=MSN, but you have to pay for the history. I think it's a scam! |
-
-
smithr4
- Broke Member
posted: Apr. 17, 2008 @ 2:27p
austinmorris said:I would respond to the seller: DEAR SIR, I AM VERY INTERESTED IN YOUR ITEM BUT IAM CURRENTLY OUT OF THE COUNTRY, CAN YOU SHIP THE ITEM TO MY SON WHO IS STUDYING AT THE UNIVERSITY OF LAGOS, NIGERIA. I WILL PAY FOR THE EXTRA SHIPPING COST AND I WILL SEND YOU THE MONEY ORDER IN THE AMOUNT OF $12000. GET BACK TO ME AS I WOULD LIKE TO HEAR FROM YOU. GOD BLESS Be sure to ask for the excess funds back in the form of Western Union payment |
Close
|
|
 |
 |
Not Already A Member?
Sign Up Now!
|
|
Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.
|
|