So I saw a add for a 2006 Honda Civic for $5350. Sounds too good to be true, so I email the person to check if this was real. Below is his reply, sounds like a scam to me. What do you guys think:
Hi, I'm Gary Rodgers, you inquired about my 2006 Honda Civic EX Coupe (VIN: 2HGFG11886H508206). I apologize for the delay, I'm in the military and now I am in United Kingdom and that's why I couldn't reply in time. If you are still interested in buying it, I'm asking $5,350. It has a clean title, very well maintained, always garage kept, no rust, excellent condition, runs and sounds 100% perfect with no leaks or noises. All power and optional equipments are working perfect. I have to sell this car as fast as I can because in three weeks I will be in Iraq and I think I'll stay there for a while that's why I'm selling it so cheap. I intend to buy a new car when I'll get back home. If you want to buy the car, I can ship for free within US with one of our military airplanes so you don't have to worry about the distance. If you are interested we can use a third party escrow broker, ProtegePay ( http://www.protegepay.com ), to secure the transaction and to handle this whole process for us. Using a reputable E-Commerce third party escrow company will secure the transaction and you will receive the car before I'll get paid and of course I'm also covered because the funds will be kept safety into the escrow account. This is the best way for me even if I'll have to pay some extra money for their services. I'll cover the broker's fee and like I've explained, the shipping will be free because I can use one of our airplanes here and I don't have to pay anything. Let me know if you are interested. You can see some pics on the following link from my personal page: http://picasaweb.google.com/grdgrs/06CivicEX You'll love the car, I can guarantee you that!
Searching for the VIN on google took me to a another site with a different color car asking for 17k. Looks like someone wants to steal my money. Any recommendations
To enter a coupon code in your post please enter the following info:
Coupon Code:
Coupon Offer:
Merchant:
Expires (optional):
Restrictions (optional):
saving...
Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.
Pdamania said:So I saw a add for a 2006 Honda Civic for $5350. Sounds too good to be true, so I email the person to check if this was real. Below is his reply, sounds like a scam to me. What do you guys think:
Hi, I'm Gary Rodgers, you inquired about my 2006 Honda Civic EX Coupe (VIN: 2HGFG11886H508206). I apologize for the delay, I'm in the military and now I am in United Kingdom and that's why I couldn't reply in time. If you are still interested in buying it, I'm asking $5,350. It has a clean title, very well maintained, always garage kept, no rust, excellent condition, runs and sounds 100% perfect with no leaks or noises. All power and optional equipments are working perfect. I have to sell this car as fast as I can because in three weeks I will be in Iraq and I think I'll stay there for a while that's why I'm selling it so cheap. I intend to buy a new car when I'll get back home. If you want to buy the car, I can ship for free within US with one of our military airplanes so you don't have to worry about the distance. If you are interested we can use a third party escrow broker, ProtegePay ( http://www.protegepay.com ), to secure the transaction and to handle this whole process for us. Using a reputable E-Commerce third party escrow company will secure the transaction and you will receive the car before I'll get paid and of course I'm also covered because the funds will be kept safety into the escrow account. This is the best way for me even if I'll have to pay some extra money for their services. I'll cover the broker's fee and like I've explained, the shipping will be free because I can use one of our airplanes here and I don't have to pay anything. Let me know if you are interested. You can see some pics on the following link from my personal page: http://picasaweb.google.com/grdgrs/06CivicEX You'll love the car, I can guarantee you that!
Searching for the VIN on google took me to a another site with a different color car asking for 17k. Looks like someone wants to steal my money. Any recommendations
Being in the military I know this, when you ship a car, it goes on a SURFACE SHIP via 3rd party commercial company. The governent doesn't use it's space on cars to ship cars, tanks going to Baghdad go in there...
Pdamania said:Yea I thought so, any way to be sure. If you want proof that it's a scam, tell him that you want to go with your own lawyer as an escrow agent, then see what the guy says. Try to act surprised when there's some reason he insists on using his escrow company.
PMonkeyDishwasher said:Pdamania said:Yea I thought so, any way to be sure. If you want proof that it's a scam, tell him that you want to go with your own lawyer as an escrow agent, then see what the guy says. Try to act surprised when there's some reason he insists on using his escrow company.
why waste your time.. i've seen these messages plenty of times. Just need to read the first sentence
RUN.......DON'T WALK AWAY FROM THIS.......ANYTIME SOMEONE SAYS THEY ARE "OUT OF THE COUNTRY" THIS MEANS SCAM!!!!!!!!! JUST LIKE THOSE IDIOTIC NIGERIAN SCHEMES THAT DOPES FALL FOR!!!!!!!
I would respond to the seller: DEAR SIR, I AM VERY INTERESTED IN YOUR ITEM BUT IAM CURRENTLY OUT OF THE COUNTRY, CAN YOU SHIP THE ITEM TO MY SON WHO IS STUDYING AT THE UNIVERSITY OF LAGOS, NIGERIA. I WILL PAY FOR THE EXTRA SHIPPING COST AND I WILL SEND YOU THE MONEY ORDER IN THE AMOUNT OF $12000. GET BACK TO ME AS I WOULD LIKE TO HEAR FROM YOU. GOD BLESS
Guyz, you wouldn'r believe this .. once i was selling some item on craigslist and kept getting same scam mail to send them my full name and address. so that they can send me a check. I got so irritated that i decided to give them some address and i gave them George Bush's white house address and phone number. and those dumb people still sent the checks to white house address .. I am sure now FBI must have been looking for all these scammers.
Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.