Edit

Forums
Deal Discussion

30%-40% off electronics - great deal or scam site, we'll see. in: Electronics

  • filter:
  • Tell A Friend
  • tweet this
  • Post to Facebook
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
  • Classic
  • Go to Page :
  • 1 2
alert mods    
rated:

You know the old saying, "If it sounds too good to be true..."

http://microtone-ltd.com/

Did not see them pop up in reseller ratings yet, but could just be an old outfit popping up as a new domain.

30-40% off Apple
30-50% off Nikon/Canon

...and other likely falsely advertised items.

My experience with these outfits is that they call you and try to make their profit back by selling you exhorbitantly priced upgrades. When you refuse, the reneg on your order.

Given my CC has fraud protection, I took the risk anyway...stating in the comments to cancel my order if it cannot be shipped within 48 hours, and to contact me only via email.

Will report back


Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.



alert mods    
rated:

"CONTACT US" is totally blank.. No way to contact them listed (email or phone). No address listed. From the language it is from the UK. I vote SCAM. (IMO)


alert mods    
rated:

I love the banner at the top...

MicroTone LTd - Happiness is Electronics-Shaped

Definite scam


alert mods    
rated:

Domain Name: MICROTONE-LTD.COM

Creation Date: 30-Aug-2009
Expiration Date: 30-Aug-2010


alert mods    
rated:

scam-tacular


alert mods    
rated:

Registration Service Provider: LovingDomains.com - Cheap Domain Name Registration
Website: http://www.lovingdomains.com
Accept Pecunix, e-Bullion, E-Gold, PayPal, MoneyBookers, WebMoney, Epassporte, Liberty Reserve, Fethard Finance and Capital Collect

Domain Name: MICROTONE-LTD.COM

Registrant:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 97
Note - All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Moergestel
null,5066 ZH
NL
Tel. +45.36946676

Creation Date: 30-Aug-2009
Expiration Date: 30-Aug-2010

Domain servers in listed order:
ns2.2-all.org
ns1.2-all.org


Administrative Contact:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 97
Note - All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Moergestel
null,5066 ZH
NL
Tel. +45.36946676

Technical Contact:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 97
Note - All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Moergestel
null,5066 ZH
NL
Tel. +45.36946676

Billing Contact:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 97
Note - All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Moergestel
null,5066 ZH
NL
Tel. +45.36946676

Status:ACTIVE

PRIVACYPROTECT.ORG is providing privacy protection services to this domain name to
protect the owner from spam and phishing attacks. PrivacyProtect.org is not
responsible for any of the activities associated with this domain name. If you wish
to report any abuse concerning the usage of this domain name, you may do so at
http://privacyprotect.org/contact. We have a stringent abuse policy and any
complaint will be actioned within a short period of time.

The data in this whois database is provided to you for information purposes only,
that is, to assist you in obtaining information about or related
to a domain name registration record. We make this information available "as is",
and do not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a whois query, you agree that you will
use this data only for lawful purposes and that, under no circumstances will you use this data to:
(1) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that stress
or load this whois database system providing you this information; or
(2) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass unsolicited,
commercial advertising or solicitations via direct mail, electronic mail, or by telephone.
The compilation, repackaging, dissemination or other use of this data is expressly prohibited without
prior written consent from us. The Registrar of record is UK2 Group Ltd..
We reserve the right to modify these terms at any time.
By submitting this query, you agree to abide by these terms.


alert mods    
rated:
Message edited by: zeus1901 on 2009-09-16 09:59:25 CDT
alert mods    
rated:

just "taking one for the team" .


alert mods    
rated:

MisterEd said:"CONTACT US" is totally blank.. No way to contact them listed (email or phone). No address listed. From the language it is from the UK. I vote SCAM. (IMO)

The language looks to be too forced to be native English, imo.


alert mods    
rated:

Stinkah, any word yet??? I ordered something yesterday and haven't heard anything in response to my e-mail, haven't seen any charge on my bank account yet either.


alert mods    
rated:

Stinkah said:30-40% off AppleI stopped reading there...anything more than a nominal discount off new Apple products = scam.


alert mods    
rated:

no word yet.


alert mods    
rated:

Discount Coupon Sample Text ...

This section of text is from the Define Pages Editor located under Tools in the Admin.

To remove this section of the text, delete it from the Define Pages Editor.


alert mods    
rated:

I was wondering the same thing. They have a Samsung UN55B8000 (their latest 55" LED television) on sale for $1700! Stinkah, please let us know how it goes.


alert mods    
rated:

No cheap toys coming my way I guess. Here was my followup email, but I don't understand. Scam I suppose, but I can't figure out their angle. Any ideas?

-----------------------------------------------

Dear Peter,

Thank you for your order. At the moment we have some problems with our
merchant account ( due to some fraudulent orders placed with stolen
credit cards ) and we can't process credit cards directly.
We have 2 options to complete your order ( if you are still interested ):

* In both cases you will receive free shipping.

1) you can pay with your credit card using Amazon payments :

http://www.Amazon.com/gp/gc/order-print/ (remainder of URL omitted)

( just enter the amount , don't add anything else ) After payment is
made please provide a scanned copy of the payment certificate received
from Amazon.
Protection offered by Amazon A-to-z Guarantee :

https://payments.Amazon.com/sdui/sdui/about?nodeId=6120

2) you can pay using a bank transfer

Once payment is made using any of the 2 methods above your order will be
processed ASAP.
If there is anything else I can help you with please let me know.

--
Always at your disposal,
Microtone LTD
24/5 Customer Service
( coming soon ... weekend and live chat support )


alert mods    
rated:

Stinkah said:No cheap toys coming my way I guess. Here was my followup email, but I don't understand. Scam I suppose, but I can't figure out their angle. Any ideas?

-----------------------------------------------

Dear Peter,

Thank you for your order. At the moment we have some problems with our
merchant account ( due to some fraudulent orders placed with stolen
credit cards ) and we can't process credit cards directly.
We have 2 options to complete your order ( if you are still interested ):

* In both cases you will receive free shipping.

1) you can pay with your credit card using Amazon payments :

http://www.Amazon.com/gp/gc/order-print/ (remainder of URL omitted)

( just enter the amount , don't add anything else ) After payment is
made please provide a scanned copy of the payment certificate received
from Amazon.
Protection offered by Amazon A-to-z Guarantee :

https://payments.Amazon.com/sdui/sdui/about?nodeId=6120

2) you can pay using a bank transfer

Once payment is made using any of the 2 methods above your order will be
processed ASAP.
If there is anything else I can help you with please let me know.

--
Always at your disposal,
Microtone LTD
24/5 Customer Service
( coming soon ... weekend and live chat support )
The potential for fraud with option 2 is obvious. If you try option 1, they will probably make up some excuse when it doesn't work, and you'll be back to a bank transfer.


alert mods    
rated:

Stinkah said:No cheap toys coming my way I guess. Here was my followup email, but I don't understand. Scam I suppose, but I can't figure out their angle. Any ideas?

-----------------------------------------------

2) you can pay using a bank transfer

I'd go with that. Nothing can possibly go wrong.


alert mods    
rated:

#1 is a gift card scam, you give them a GC they resell it on eBay and keep the money and you and the GC buyer get scammed.


alert mods    
rated:

Stinkah said:
Always at your disposal,
Microtone LTD
24/5 Customer Service


I guess even scammers need some time off.


 Close

Sign Me In
Nickname: 
Password: 
Remember My Login Information:

Forget your login information?

Not Already A Member?
Sign Up Now!

  • Quick Reply:  Have something quick to contribute? Just reply below and you're done! hide Quick Reply
     
     
    Click here for full-featured reply.


Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.


While FatWallet makes every effort to post correct information, offers are subject to change without notice.
Some exclusions may apply based upon merchant policies.
© 1999-2009