Edit

Forums
Deal Discussion

Is this site legit? in: Recommendation Needed

  • filter:
  • Tell A Friend
  • tweet this
  • Post to Facebook
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
  • Classic
  • Page :
  • 1
alert mods    
rated:

Hi,

Can someone please tell me if this site is definitely legit or not? Link below.

http://www.freegasusa.org/services.html

I emailed them some questions and have not gotten a response.

Thanks.


Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.



alert mods    
rated:

common sense would say "if you have to ask the answer is no"


alert mods    
rated:

I think the site looks somewhat legit. They don't seem to ask you for anything. Just looks like a program for low income people. Whether they have much money to give out or you would be likely to get a grant for free gas, who knows.


alert mods    
rated:

Edmunds' article

Mlive article

I found they're on Facebook, Myspace and Twitter. Apparently run by a church in Michigan; if that's accurate, more than likely it's legit. Applicants must fall into the income limit requirements and applications must be accompanied by a referral letter form a human services agency or church and most recent tax return to be considered.

If you're curious, I looked up the WhoIs for the website too. I could only find the two articles, and not much other info. Beyond that, I don't know.


alert mods    
rated:

Thanks Fuzzy. I went to your link and now have the name and number of the site owner. When I call her, exactly what should I ask her to provide as proof that this is a real program? As you could see from the application, they ask for tax records, proof of car ownership and many other sensitive, private pieces of information in order to prove that you qualify. I need to be certain before deciding to fill out the app. Please advise. Thanks.


alert mods    
rated:

Sorry for the delay, shepolehaverings, I was offline all weekend. I sent you a reply via PM this morning. I hope it helps!


alert mods    
rated:

This is a religious organization

Nonprofit Free Gas USA Launches Grant Program for Needy Drivers
Date posted: 07-31-2008

STORY TOOLS Digg this!
del.icio.us

KALAMAZOO, Michigan — A nonprofit program called Free Gas USA is taking applications for gas grant cards that range in value from $50-$1,200. The program is designed to help low-income people shoulder the burden of high gasoline prices.

Applications for grants can be accessed at the Free Gas USA Web site. In order to qualify for the help, a person's yearly income must be at or below the "very low income limit" category as spelled out by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. That number in Los Angeles County for a single person is defined as $26,550, says the organization.

Anyone in the U.S. can apply for the gas card, but they must be U.S. citizens. The gas cards are given out monthly, and there is no limit to the number of cards a person can apply for.

The program is affiliated with Baptism Ministries USA, based at the Church of the Brethren in Oshtemo Township, Michigan.

What this means to you: One option if you are having trouble coming up with gas money, but you need a copy of your tax return and a referral letter from a human service agency or church. — Anita Lienert, Correspondent


alert mods    
rated:

Free Gas USA, Inc. (www.freegasusa.org) is NOT legitimate. I spoke with the Charitable Trust Administrator at the Michigan Attorney General's Office. Here is what I learned:

(1) They are well aware of Free Gas USA, and the person behind it (he calls himself "Rev. William Stein"), since they have received many complaints about the organization from people who have complied with the "free gas" application requirements, yet who never heard anything further and cannot reach the organization.

(2) William Stein refuses to cooperate with the AG's office and will not provide them with any information about Free Gas USA. He is currently threatening to sue them (presumably for harassment).

(3) Free Gas USA is not licensed to do business in MI or to collect donations, as the organization seeks to do through the donations page of its website.

(4) Free Gas USA is not a non-profit organization as it claims to be (i.e., a 501(c)(3) corporation). See http://www.irs.gov/app/pub-78/ (allows you to search for IRS-sanctioned organizations eligible to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions).


 Close

Sign Me In
Nickname: 
Password: 
Remember My Login Information:

Forget your login information?

Not Already A Member?
Sign Up Now!

  • Quick Reply:  Have something quick to contribute? Just reply below and you're done! hide Quick Reply
     
     
    Click here for full-featured reply.


Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.


While FatWallet makes every effort to post correct information, offers are subject to change without notice.
Some exclusions may apply based upon merchant policies.
© 1999-2009