Bug: Quick Summary and Smart quotes

Archived From: FatWallet
  • Page :
  • Text Only
rated:
I copy this text from a post and paste it into the quick summary:
Start -> Run -> gpedit.msc -> User Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Windows Update.
There, you will find an option called Do not adjust default option to Install Updates And Shut Down in Shut Down Windows dialog box. If you enable this, then clicking Shut Down will just shut down your computer without installing updates. However, the Install Updates And Shut Down option is still available in the little menu, in case you need it

It shows up with strange characters instead of the quotes. (quotes that work in regular postings). As a web developer, I realize these things can be a pain in the butt.

Anyhow, I then try to change the bad characters to the regular " but unfortunately, it still adds some strange character. I edit it again to remove the strange characters and they keep coming back.
Start -> Run -> gpedit.msc -> User Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Windows Update.
There, you will find an option called "œDo not adjust default option to "˜Install Updates And Shut Down"™ in Shut Down Windows dialog box". If you enable this, then clicking "œShut Down" will just shut down your computer without installing updates. However, the "œInstall Updates And Shut Down" option is still available in the little menu, in case you need it

See history.
http://www.fatwallet.com/forums/viewmessagehistory.php?messageid...

Member Summary
Try #1

There, you will find an option called “Do not adjust default option to ‘Install Updates And Shut Down’ in Shut Down Windows dialog box”. If you enable this, then clicking “Shut Down” will just shut down your computer without installing updates. However, the “Install Updates And Shut Down” option is still available in the little menu, in case you need it