• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Hi Fatwalleters...

I am looking for some advice. This is my first time buying a used car. After looking over a bunch of used cars from private sellers and dealerships, I think I've finally found one in my range. One caveat is that the seller has an outstanding loan on it. He outlined a process where I can cut a check to the loan company and another check to him for the remaining balance. Then I would have to wait several weeks to get the title. From appearance, the seller doesn't seem shady, but yes, appearances can be deceiving.

Details:
- Car has an outstanding loan of $7,000. I offered ~$10,000 for the car.
- Seller says his bro-in-law's name is on the loan/title
- Says he would require payment to help pay off the loan first. I could cut a check to the loan company and the remaining balance to him. Then they would do title transfer and I would receive it in a few weeks.

Questions:
1. Should I be wary that the title is in his bro in law's name and he is trying to sell it for him? Or as long as he has the paperwork in hand?
2. How can I have him pay off the loan without me handing over the money? I've looked online and some mention the use of a service such as escrow.com.

I wanted to see if others have gone through this process before and what they would advise. Thanks for your suggestions!

Member Summary
Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

The red flag I see is that you wouldn't get the car until a couple of weeks after payment.

This sounds VERY fishy. If I gave someone money, I would expect a title and a car immediately on my payment. But maybe this is just me. There are plenty of cars out there.

why arent you dealing with the person on the title... fishy