• Go to page :
  • 1 23
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I'm thinking about opening a new Checking account with Free ATM. I mean fully free, ie, reimbursed ATM owner's fees.

To name a few of the top ones:
Ally Checking
Schwab High Yield Checking
USAA (I'm not military, but I hear they're open to public)
Capital One (Online account - In CA so no branch near me)

Background: Only going to keep about ~$1000 in the account at any time so interest differences really make little difference.
I'm a college student - and while I don't have bad credit, I don't have a lot of credit history. 2 cards (AMEX + Capital One) that I've had for 2-2.5 years.

Breakdown:
Ally - refunds all ATM fees (withdrawals and balance checks) - unlimited
Ally - 24/7 customer service by phone and chat

Schwab - refunds withdrawal fees only - unlimited
Schwab - does NOT take a 1% Foreign transaction fee for international withdrawals (may go to Europe over summer)

USAA refunds withdrawal fees only - upto $15, first 10 ATM/monthly

Capital One - not sure if refunds withdrawal fees or all fees. Refunds "any ATM within the United States and at some ATMs located outside the United States". $25 monthly max.

---

It seems to me that there's no real reason for me to get USAA, unless someone tells me their service/ease is better than the others.
Not a fan of Capital One's "some" ATM clause. They also mention in some fine print that some ATMs within the US get charged a fee too.

So it comes down to Ally vs Schwab.
Ally gives 0.5% APY, Schwab gives 0.25% APY. That's $2.50 for consistent $1000 in the account after a year.. not a big enough difference to make a decision.

Schwab > Ally for no international fee.
Ally > Schwab for 24/7 customer service.

Are there any other reasons one is better than the other? Ease of deposits? Ease of service? Etc...
With my WF, I only use WF ATMs, so obviously I can deposit cash.