• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I'm new to the DFW area, but have heard about thee increased threat of hail damage to my roof. My roof is about 10 yrs old, but in good condition (just had everything inspected about 60 days ago)

I'm still grappling with the increase in my homeowners insurance (vs the $750/yr w/$500 ded I paid in OH). I have Farmers at ~2100/yr with 1% hail deductible, but am thinking about switching to Amica which would be ~$1100/yr, but have a 2% deductible (~300K house). Any odds makers out there that could venture a guess of me needing to make a roof claim before my breakeven period of 3 years? (all of this of course assumes I save the savings to self-insure)

Thanks!

Member Summary
  • Also categorized in:
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

Obviously, in any given year, you could get pummeled, but it's not like you should expect to make claims real often. I've been a homeowner in DFW for 7 years, and made my first claim this year. The house had it's original roof from 1992, with no replacement noted by the seller (first owner) when we bought it. I think with a 3 year break even, changing is likely to come out in your favor. I'll also note that I've renewed my policy since making my claim and the premium didn't change by more than $50 for the year. So, it's probably a better financial decision to take the 2% deductible even if you have to make a claim within the next 3 years, so long as you can cover the increased deductible before the break even.

nic3456 said:   I'm new to the DFW area, but have heard about thee increased threat of hail damage to my roof. My roof is about 10 yrs old, but in good condition (just had everything inspected about 60 days ago)