• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I am writing this forum post in hopes of getting help with my financial question.
I am a recent graduate of dental school (30 years old) and have a total student loan debt of about $120,000.00 (US) at a fixed interest rate of 3.7% and have about 28 more years left to pay off the loan. I am making my monthly payments (about half of that is interest and half is principal at the moment, though as payments continue, there will be less interest needing to be paid).
As for my question: While I make money, should I look to put it away in a savings account, low risk mutual fund or stock, in a tax-free Bond or CD, etc? Or should I forget about saving money and focus 100% of my money to paying off more and more of the principal of my student loan?

Any financial information you could offer me would be a great help -- thank you in advance for anything you can offer!!

I am working now (self employed) as a dentist. I have just started working so my income isn't clear as of yet. I am assuming to earn about $30,000 over these next 6+ months of the 2012 year (before taxes and before any write-offs, but after business expenses). I have a car payment (buying my car) at an interest rate of 2.49% fixed and that is my only other loan outside of the student loan. My monthy expenses (apartment rent, utilities, student loans, gas, food, etc) are about $3,750 and if I earn $30,000 in 6 months, that would be about $5,000 per month. Savings account and stocks/bonds/etc total about $35,000 (most of that, nearly 85%, is actual cash in my bank account) -- I have put nothing into my retirement yet as I am just starting work on my own this year and have been in school until now with only small jobs before this one. My credit score, when I last checked in February is 803.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
Or if his commute is less than 5 miles each way then just about any car can get him home and back... 3K can prolly get ... (more)