• Go to page :
  • 1 23
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I've been an electrical engineering technician working with particle accelerators for about 7 years. I'm very good with electronics and have moved from a technician role to an engineer role (without the title). For having a 2 year degree, my pay is quite good - around 78K including 5K overtime. There is not much room for me to improve that number without significant overtime. Overtime is available, and I could earn as much as my willingness to work overtime allows. I've also been moonlighting in physics classes, and will receive my BS in physics soon. I enjoy school and would like to get a master's degree.

I was considering accelerator physics, but the job prospects are very narrow for that field. That's why I'm considering theraputic medical physics (think a radiation pharmacist for cancer patients). Nearly every clinic and mid sized hospital has one, large hospitals have a team. A board certified physicist earns about 120K-150K to start, with income potential of 200K+. It will take me 4 years to finish the program while working full time, plus 2 years of residency with annual salary of ~50K during the residency.

Right now, there is a bottleneck in residency slots with too many applicants, many who are armed with a PhD. If I don't get into a residency after spending 4 years to get the masters degree, I may never be board certified, limiting my earning to the low 100K range. By the time I might finish a residency, I will be 35. That still gives me 30 years in the field. I know many doctors start their career that late in life, but their earning potential may be significantly higher.