Apartment Move Out charges

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Long time lurker first time poster.

I have been a good resident at an apartment complex in AZ for 2.5 years and always paid rent on time etc. Now the apartment has few cleaning related issues while moving in and I had documented it in the checklist. Fast forward to last month when I moved out. I cleaned the apartment pretty well.,although I'll admit that few walls were dirty and needed paint etc. The apartment was in no shabbier condition than when I moved in.
Apartment company sends me a letter and charges me more than $400 for carpet replacement saying there were 2 year left on it and it had to be replaced because of the condition. I had steam cleaned the carpet while moving out and I have photos to prove it. The carpet was definitely in a good condition and could easily go for another 2 years.
I called the management company and was told that their appraiser deemed the carpet useless and they had to replace it. They also said that since I did not get the apartment inspected, I am pretty much out of luck. Should I choose to go to the court, their appraiser's word will stand and my pictures will not prove anything.

I definitely want to contest the charges and I need few pointers on where to start.
1. Can I ask them to provide invoices of carpet replacements done to verify that they really changed it and charged me appropriate amount?
2. Even if they provide receipts, I'd want to contest it in the small claims court. Where do I start?

Appreciate help from FWF.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
Mine is $220 I think. I chose mine when I moved out to AZ because the termination fee is 1.5 months of rent and deposit... (more)

Al3xK (Oct. 31, 2012 @ 5:01p) |

Unfortunately often your, my, our...competition.

JaxFL (Oct. 31, 2012 @ 5:06p) |

An employee did a walk through with me and everything was marked excellent. They are closed on Weekends. I went back by ... (more)