• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I'm a Spanish student studying in the US. I need to know what is the best bank to receive wire transfers from Spain in Euros. Right now I'm in Bank of the West, but they charge me maintenance fees and also an average of $60 per every transfer that comes from Spain.
Do you guys know of any bank that is good for this kind of operation?
THANKS!

Member Summary
  • Also categorized in:

Maybe you can check for some local credit unions. Receiving international wire transfer is free for the credit union I am with.

haoniukun said:   Receiving international wire transfer is free for the credit union I am withbut there is still a fee assessed by the correspondent bank

It's free to receive incoming wires with the Performance Spend from PNC. It might only be one per month, I'm not certain.

Thanks for the answers so far!
Also, if the account doesn't have any kind of maintenance fees, that would be awesome. I would only use this account to receive the money, nothing else...
Thanks!

The Performance Spend is free with $1500 minimum balance or direct deposits of $1000+ per month. I think my Ally pushes count as DD so you might be able to make it work

Well, I'm not sure that would work because I can have $5000 from a wire and $0 the next day, so...

It's an average balance so if you left it a few days it might work.

I'll check it out then. Thanks!
Any specific credit union I should check out too?

you have to find a european bank that can hold euro currency

unimeg said:   It's free to receive incoming wires with the Performance Spend from PNC. It might only be one per month, I'm not certain.
It's not free for international wire transfer.

what about ACH payments?

charles schwab is free for intl wire transfers but the directions are a bit funky but it only accepts USD so if you can convert it to usd in spain and then transfer it schwab works well