• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I lost my job 2 months ago for a non-performance related reason and it still bothers me a little to this day. I learned my lesson and have moved on (or trying my best). I have 3 years of experience out of college in the financial services sector. I've been scouring job sites, looking at ads on numerous university boards, reaching out to people nearly everyday but haven't had much luck. There aren't many new job postings. I reached out to someone high up at a company who graduated from my university and he is open to a phone call. How can I turn this phone call into a possible job offer opportunity? Any advice for what to talk about and how to guide this call without coming across as too aggressive?
I'm doing fine financially since I had saved a large safety net but I'm concerned about having an extended gap on my resume.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
I think you got the wrong idea from my post.

OP's post is essentially saying, "I want to ask some high up person if there... (more)

tolamapS (Nov. 26, 2012 @ 11:03p) |

Many people have read the OP and have offered suggestions on how the OP might accomplish his goals without directly sayi... (more)

mikeres (Nov. 27, 2012 @ 2:12a) |

Actually it is popular in Asia and Europe and if the study quoted here (http://www.economist.com/node/21551535) is to be... (more)

secstate (Nov. 27, 2012 @ 5:12p) |

• Also categorized in:

A few pointers:
Don't seem desperate.
Ask him about what his company's/division's/team's major challenges & objectives are. Make enough small talk so that he knows you understand the space, but not so much that it seems like a hard sell.
Make the ask a soft ask (unless you are getting a really positive he-wants-to-hire-you vibe): "I'm looking to do X at a company like Y or Z. As I'm doing my search, would you mind if I reached out to you for some advice? If you hear about any positions that would be a fit, I'd really appreciate a heads up."