• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Hi Gurus

I am new here and just moved from Canada. I lived in US before as well ,so I have established
credit history. I am a software consultant and some time require relocation or travel
. I have some savings and wanted to purchase a Condo/ townhouse. My concern is if I relocate to a neighboring state (Drivable) what could be the implications? Any tax issues?

My point was to utilize some of my savings and let the property be rental in case I need to move.
Will there be any issues of tax for primary residence on selling or how does that work.

Appreciate your help!
Andy

Member Summary
  • Also categorized in:
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

So you are buying a condo and you will be living in it at first, then possibly relocating and renting it. If you live in it for two years or more, do not rent it, and then sell it, you get to take the gain tax-free up to $250k ($500K if married filing a joint return). If you sell your residence at a loss, there is no deduction allowed.

During the time it is your primary residence, you can deduct your mortgage interest and real estate taxes as personal deductions.

If you convert your primary residence to a rental property, you can deduct mortgage interest, real estate taxes, and more as rental expense. When you sell the rental property, if you sell at a gain, your exclusion is determined by looking back five years to see if it was your principal residence during any part of that time period. If it was, some of the gain may be excludible. If not, it is treated strictly as a rental property with all gain taxed.

If you sell your rental property at a loss, the deductible part of the loss applies only to the period after conversion to a rental property. Any decrease in value before it was converted is not deductible.