• Go to page :
  • 1 2
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Hey there,
I got a perfect NYC real estate deal: no competitor, no bid war, discount price: the beautiful multi-family brownstone (4 units) in which i live is for sale for 1.5M.

Since i know the landlady and his family for over ten years, i am given the priority to purchase, as well as a $200K discount - pretty much what i have been giving her in rent over 10 years. Each days numerous investors are knocking to buy the house, but she tells them that she already has a buyer, me! I even have the contract in hand. Also, renting 2 units is enough to cover the full mortgage. The thing is, i am an artist, and besides my excellent credit score, my bank broker who loves my project and about $25K for down payment, my income is not regular enough to get a mortgage by myself: i have no other option than some sort of...partnership (ouch, i said it!).

The potential partner (and her husband) i m talking with these days has much money - they have about $300K for downpayment and steady high income as art designers. For the past 3 years, she got outbidded each time she made an offer on any house in my neighborhood, so she knows the value of my deal. Since a LLC is expensive, here s what she suggest: they (she and her husband) buy the house under their name (to get a better rate..) and give me a purchase option. In the end, we both pay our half of the mortgage and end up co-owner.

How does this sound to you?
I m concerned about what could go wrong for me if my name is not on the title from day one.
How much is worth me bringing and securing the deal?
What is the "value" of this in a partnership?
How should we split the co-owner ship (she brings the front-money and i bring the deal): 50/50 ?
I ve read a lot of horror stories about buying with friends: I dont know her very well, though she s a friend of a friend, and we plan to put all of this in contract: has anybody heard of something like that before? Main pitfalls?