Quicken to Use it Or Not?

Archived From: Finance
  • Go to page :
  • 1 2
  • Text Only
Another vote for Mint, unless you are paranoid about about giving them id/password to every site where you have a financial account you want to track in Mint. I don't track my investments/IRA with Mint and would not lose much sleep if somebody hacks into my credit card site. This seems to be a daily occurrence these days. Quicken as a standalone desktop product will probably go away soon, if I were starting from scratch, I would not invest into it.

I've been using MS Money for the last 18 years.
You can download the Sunset version of MS Money for free from the following: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20738

For those of you using MS Money, I would strongly recommend going to the following site: https://sites.google.com/site/pocketsense/home/msmoneyfixp1/p2
This guy has written scripts that will automate the downloading of your transcations from your bank/cc/brokerage accounts. I've been using it for about 3 years now (before MS Money sunsetted) and it's pretty awesome.

I have started using Quicken recently and will really appreciate a few insights -

1. Between myself and spouse, I have some cash transactions every month. Is there an easy/automated way to enter it?
  2. I have Quicken 2010 which will expire in a few months. I have heard of horror stories with Quicken 2013. I would have preferred to stay with 2010 but not sure if that is an option. I already have 2013 version. What is the best way to transition it?

Thanks so much.