• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I have some personal loans and paid interest to my lenders during 2012. Am I required to issue a 1099-Int to my lenders? I read the instructions for 1099-INT and it suggested I was exempt, although I welcome additional opinions.

http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1099int.pdf

IRS said: Report only interest payments made in the course of your trade or business...

Exceptions to reporting. No Form 1099-INT is required to be filed for payments made to exempt recipients or for interest excluded from reporting.

Interest excluded from reporting. You are not required to file Form 1099-INT for interest on an obligation issued by an individual, ...

In case this matters, I plan on deducting this on my taxes as investment interest expense. I do not have a business, these are personal investments in stocks and the like.

Thank you.

Member Summary
  • Also categorized in:

I am not an expert on the topic and can't comment on specific situation, but I can say that generally, you as a borrower don't issue 1099-INT on any loans. Your lender should issue 1099-INT.

Kinasharma01 said:   I am not an expert on the topic and can't comment on specific situation, but I can say that generally, you as a borrower don't issue 1099-INT on any loans. Your lender should issue 1099-INT.
A lender can issue a 1098
The borrower can issue a 1099

Whether they are required or not, I'm not certain

At what point does number of creditors or amount of loans for full time trading become a investment business rather than personal investments?

How much is this subject to intrepation wrt to the irs and will deducting large amounts for paid interest without a paper trail (no 1099) and creditor reporting a,ounts without a1099 cause reason for audit for either the debtor or creditor?

I think if I loaned someone money and they issued me a 1099 for the interest I wouldn't loan them money anymore.