Tax Software, which one?

Archived From: Finance
  • Go to page :
  • 1 2
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I was sure this would already be a topic so I did a search on here and I apologize if this is a duplicate. Assuming you do your own taxes using software, how does everyone determine which tax software to use? Is it based on price? Features? Does it even matter? I've used TaxAct in the past and wanted opinions on if its worth looking into other products or continuing on with what always has been.

Thanks!

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
I have been filing with TaxAct for over 4 yrs now (once my returns $ matches with TurboTax), as TaxAct been little cheap... (more)

IndianInUSA (Mar. 27, 2013 @ 4:04p) |

It is depended on what tax form your are filing filling.

albermthomas (Apr. 05, 2013 @ 1:26a) |

Are you sure? http://turbotax.intuit.com/small-business-taxes/forms-business.jsp

NEDeals (Apr. 05, 2013 @ 10:19a) |

Many IRS revenue agents I know use TurboTax
  • Also categorized in:
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

I use tax act as well. Seems to be the cheapest option and a good one since Tsxact is free even for more complicated returns.. I compared to the HR block free software a few years ago and preferred Tsxact. Haven't tried any others though.

have a friend who used TaxAct but had some confusion. ended up using the Help portion in my TurboTax because it addressed the confusion better.

I've used TaxAct for years and swear by it.

i used TaxAct but i'm just gonna do it free online this year.

if you enter the same information into all of them you should pretty much get the same return, unless there's a bug in the tax software.

I always use TurboTax, but I don't like the fact that they have this screen at the final check-out page that tries to scam a $29.95 fee out of you just to take your $19.95 state return fees out of your return check vs. using a credit card, where there is $0 fee.