• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Here is our situation. We own our home outright. Appraised at 382K last summer when we bought it. The reason we are able to own our home right now is that we were extremely fortunate and my parents bought the house for us outright with cash. They are extremely well off, and I have never asked my parents for any money, so they did this for us. Since I was 18 I have never asked or taken any money from my parents, worked hard through college and grad school to fund my own education, so that I graduated debt free. However, my wife has about $145k in student loans (mainly due to graduate school), at 4.85% currently. Min payment is about $900/month; my wife has actually been paying down approx $3k per month. Last year, she paid about $8k in interest on the student loans.

Currently, we are living quite comfortably. Our combined gross annual income is right about 300k. We are both maxing out our 403bs and 457s (instead of 401k because we work for the same government institution). We have about 120k saved in our liquid emergency fund. Our jobs are both quite stable (like I said, we both work for the same government institution), and we could easily just pay the minimum on her loan and forgot about it for the next 20 years or however long it takes to pay it off. However, like I mentioned, I was always careful with money and even though I have a well paying job now, I still try to maximize rewards/minimize interest payments. Iím lucky that my familyís wealth did not make me a spoiled brat, unlike some of my cousins.

My question is, should we take out a home equity loan to pay for the student loans? If we borrow about 140K, and repay over 5 years or 10 years, Iím guessing I can get a rate between 2.5 to 3%. That would make our monthly payment in the $2500 range for the 5 year option and $1500 for the ten year option. Remember, my wife has been paying down about 3k a month anyways.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts