International Money Transfers

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I'm new to this, so apologies. But has anyone used a good service in the US to transfer money abroad?

Member Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

don't know a good one, but don't use xoom. they are unsafe.

i use xe.com - there rates are competitive enough for an occasional user and you can fund and withdraw with no fees.

Can you get any more specific?
country
approx. amount
one-time or periodic
business or personal

sunspotzsz said:   don't know a good one, but don't use xoom. they are unsafe.

Can you explain? I've used Xoom many times to fund a checking account in the UK. The money shows in the account in less than 30 minutes. Only $5. Never had a problem. My transactions are relatively small.

I am looking for someone who could give me USD$'s here in exchange of rupees in India - Fair and Clean transaction
Also I am looking at other options like wire

sunspotzsz said:   don't know a good one, but don't use xoom. they are unsafe.

I've found xoom to be entirely safe.

Oddly, "sunspotzsz" is quick to pipe up on threads that xoom is unsafe, but provides no explanations for holding that opinion. For example: http://www.fatwallet.com/forums/travel-discussion/1251734/

awkforeigner said:   I'm new to this, so apologies. But has anyone used a good service in the US to transfer money abroad?

Awkforeigner, this question gets asked somewhere on Fatwallet several times a month, and has been for many years.

===
The best thing to do when you have a question and you are new to the site is to do a site search to see if it's already been thoroughly covered.

You can access the search function via the big white search box that is in the upper right of every FW page.

===
Another method of asking a simple question is to post it in the "new users" thread, which is the topmost thread on the Finance forum page: