QUICK LINKS
MY ACCOUNT
Cash Pending:
Cash Available:
Payment Requested:
Payment Processed:
Lifetime Cash Back:

Handling a Terminal Disease the FWF Way?

First page
1 of 30
Kashisti
2/22/13 9:56 AM
PREFACE - Please don't flame me!
First, let me say that I'm completely surprised that I couldn't find an existing thread for these questions. That makes me think that either (1) I'm not very good at searching, or (2) these questions are frowned upon for some reason. I'm trying to limit the details of my situation to what I think would be relevant to the questions at hand, but only to keep things concise and as simple as possible. If more details are needed I am certainly willing to provide them.

DISEASE BACKGROUND - Some high-level details of my illness.
About two weeks ago I was diagnosed with a terminal, inoperable brain tumor. I am going to start radiation and chemotherapy on 02.27.2013. The current treatment plan calls for therapy five days a week for about six weeks - through 04.19.2013. We don't know how terminal the terminal part is, and we really won't until after those six weeks. Worst case is less than a year. Median is one to two years. I've got potential to be a fairly optimistic case - some folks are still going strong after eight to ten years.

FINANCIAL BACKGROUND - High-level details of our current financial situation
  • Married, three biological children (7 months, 3 years and 4 years) and one step-child (9 years)
  • Wife is a full-time stay-at-home mother. She has no work-from-home type income.
  • Wife does collect child support from the 9 year-old's father. We have a good relationship with him.
  • We closed on a new-construction home in mid-December - about two weeks before learning of the brain tumor.
  • We have a 30-year fixed rate mortgage at 3.25% through a USDA Rural Development loan. We put $10,000 down. The original loan amount was $283,500.00.