• Go to page :
  • 1 23
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I am a recent college grad, moved back home with my parents, got a job paying 45k. It just doesn't seem possible at all making that amount to move out and pay for rent and all other expenses, even with roommates. It appears that rent is at a minimum, $1,000 per month with roommates in the bay area. How are young college grads able to afford this without living paycheck to paycheck? Should I try taking on a second job or creating some sort of online business on the side?

It seems like one has to make at least 60k to be able to live somewhat comfortably with roommates in the bay area and be able to contribute to a retirement plan/savings plan. Do you have any advice for a young person trying to make more money? Thanks!

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
There's so much moral preaching here, I want to puke (((

bigmammal (Mar. 08, 2013 @ 8:19p) |

According to the BLS the average weekly earing is 821.79, which works out to below $43K. It doesn't take a lot to live i... (more)

armus (Mar. 08, 2013 @ 8:24p) |

There are tons of Asian people in Texas, especially in DFW, Houston, and Austin. It's perfectly normal. I was shown a ... (more)

JTausTX (Mar. 09, 2013 @ 11:17p) |

• Also categorized in:
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

60k/yr in SF is pretty much poverty line. Move to a cheaper state or get a better job. SF is for smart people who can command 6 figures from the job market.

I haven't heard of anyone making 100k+ from their first job out of college, at least in my circle of friends. Highest I've heard was $80k straight out of college.

credit card debt.