Buying a 2013 Explorer XLT

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
hello all,

So i have a 2003 BUick Rendezvous (50k miles) and i am thinking of trading this in towards a 2013 Explorer below 35k and probably 300 above invoice (edmunds TMV calculator) .I may get 6K at best for the trade and probably 5k cash for a total of 11K
down.

I am a weekend driver. No high mileage here, have a 2004 Trailblazer with 45k miles (not trading this though)

- Thinking of going with penfed (my credit rating isnt that great)

- I can get my parents to cosign for a better rate

- Would like all the bells and whistles - nav etc.

Questions:

Any reason why i shouldn't get the 2013 Explorer?

Any advantages to buying in NJ or CT vs NY?

Should i wait for any specific timing - no real rush here would like to maximize on opportunity?

Should i play one dealer against another to get throw ins?

Any help and advice would be appreciated

Thanks
Rod.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
Just a point to ponder, the Exploder was the number one vehicle sold to 'Cash for Clunkers'.

BitemeIamtoxic (Mar. 25, 2013 @ 6:58p) |

Irrelevant Point...

Those were the old truck-based (Ford Ranger), full-frame Explorers...rugged, but heavy...

New Explorer... (more)

craftsmd (Mar. 25, 2013 @ 8:38p) |

The older Explorers are solid except for a few cheap interior parts here and there... but they are gas guzzlers... proba... (more)

brettdoyle (Mar. 26, 2013 @ 9:03a) |

Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

Why are you getting an new car?

Porqin said:   Why aren't you buying a Crown Vic instead?

fixed

Need a second car, my dad drives to work with the Rendezvous but its a nighmare for repairs so rather than repair i'll give him the TB and get the EXP for me. I have a decent job to i want a nice ride also.

1. Why can't your dad get his own car and you keep the TB?
2. If you need your parents to co-sign you shouldn't be buying a car that nice/new.