• Go to page :
  • 1 2
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I am a college student, but have managed to save up several thousand dollars. I want to set aside about two thousand so that it can grow and add money to it whenever I can. This isn't my emergency fund, and I am willing to be exposed to some risk. After doing some reading, I think that an ETF or Mutual fund would my best bet. I dont have enough money or interest to invest in stocks, and I think (correct me if I am wrong) I can expose myself to more risk then CD's, and bonds.

I started looking at mutual funds, and it was difficult to find one that out preformed the S&P 500. Since Mutual funds charge anywhere between 0.5 to 2 percent a year to be managed, that takes a chunk out of my money. The only benefit I can see of having a mutual fund is that since its managed, it could prevent me from losing less if something goes wrong. However, I'm not even sure about that.

Learning that only 11 percent of Mututal funds outpreformed the S&P 500, I decided to look at an ETF that tracks it. If I buy SPY, which just tracks the SP 500, it will preform better then mutual funds, pay dividends, and charge less for management.

Is this good reasoning? I realize that the S&P 500 is at all time high, but Goldman Sachs predicted it would continue to grow to steadily grow till 2015. My other reasoning was that even if it took a dip, its bound to go up again in the long term (3-5) years.

Also, I signed up for E*Trade after reading some good reviews of it. I couldn't find anything that was wrong with it, anything I should be looking out for?

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
3x leverages ETFs are decay in value. You either double short the bull and bear together or use options to bet on direct... (more)

bbmak (May. 24, 2013 @ 1:37p) |

The lure of investing in 3x ETFs over the long-term is understandable. If the market trends upward in the long term, why... (more)

clarkkentorkalel (May. 24, 2013 @ 3:11p) |

Update: