• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
We are in the process of purchasing some real estate and I have been asked by the lender to provide my title company contact. I am a newbie in the title insurance space so started doing some research, here is what I have found -

Purchase Price - $350,000, loan amount $280,000
Local Title Company - $2,150 + other fees (I will post the HUD1 from the local company as soon as I have it.)

Entitle -
Your Title Insurance Premium with Reissue Discount, Owners Policy $1,399
Closing Protection Letter: $75
Tax Certification Fee: $75
Outside Notary Fee: $225
Courier/Processing: $35

I am in PA and have found that there are set rates for title insurance. Link to rates here The $2,150 matches the purchase price above.

I came across some other FW threads debating title insurance and this one specifically on entitle, shows positive feedback but how are they able to make money by being ~$750 less. FW Thread on Entitle

I know recording fees is not included above, but those should be standard with the county. Appreciate any insight.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
I am the owner of a large independent title company in the Mid-Atlantic region. I have a lot of respect for EntitleDire... (more)

titleguy (Jul. 18, 2013 @ 8:53a) |

Your sentence above suggests that local title companies provide attorneys for buyers. When I did a property transaction... (more)

NEDeals (Jul. 19, 2013 @ 7:46a) |

After getting a quote from Entitle, I have been communicating back and forth with them and found out that they do not pr... (more)

tajar96 (Jul. 21, 2013 @ 10:50a) |

Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

The reissue discount is generally only applicable to refinance. Don't think it applies to purchase.

I tried on their website again and I get the same quote. This time I was double and triple checked that I selected "buying"

Title Insurance Premium from Major Competitors: $2,150