Are there any Pros to Load Funds?

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I'm a newb here, reading about all these no-load funds and willing to invest in the upcoming year or so. Wondering, why are load funds out there? Do people actually invest in load funds? Are there are pros? 

Why would anyone invest in one when there are no-load funds available to the general public? Are the load funds basically gimicks for large banks (Chase, BofA) to trap their naive customers?

We all know load funds dont gaurantee higher returns than no-loads, so maybe i'm missing something that is actually good about load funds?

Member Summary

If you believe in active management, then some of them may have higher returns after fees. They have not outperformed their peers in aggregate though.

Load funds exist to pay higher fees to their creators and intermediaries, IMO.

If you plan to hold a fund for a long time, a back-end-load is a good thing since it reduces the externalities associated with people selling their shares in a fund.

The Pro would be that there are certain funds that have actually outperformed other no-load funds over periods of time even taking the load and expenses in consideration. You would need to be a believer that an active management approach will give you much higher net returns in the long run. Short-term, the load immediately puts you in the red, because your gain must need to exceed the sales load to even break even. In the past some load funds have delivered very good returns even after the sales load and various expenses. The trick is to know which fund will do that and keep on doing that after all expenses have been taken into consideration. Good Luck with that.

There are typically two areas where load funds have higher fees than the minimalist index fund. They should be debated separately.

1) Actively managed fund fees / fees to the fund money manager.