• filter:
  • Go to page :
  • 1 23
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
There is a lot of change going on at my company. Our department is being reorganized and I feel a couple people may be on the outside of that plan looking in.  In case I'm one of those, I'm wondering what's the best approach to ensure my wellbeing as best as possible? 

My wife works but hers doesnt quite cover all the bills.  
Im a mechanical engineer with 11 years experience in hvac consulting, and extreme environment sealing systems such as oil and gas, semicon, industrial, etc.  to be clear, I don't work in those industries, but we make sealing systems for those industries and sell to them. 

We live as far south EAST as you can just about without going into Florida.    My city is not a big industrial/ manufacturing city by any means.  I prefer not to move because my wife has a great job she loves and we don't really want to move.   

I would take a job elsewhere if it meant driving 4-6 hours and staying all week for as long as I needed to to keep the lights on. 

We do have some savings.   With her bringing in income we could survive a year without totally draining our savings, though it would eat up most of it. 

If the worst happens, I'll be applying for anything and everything including waiting tables, or grocery store or pest treatment guy, anything.  However realistically I dunno if any of those places would hire me as I'm way over qualified.  

I'm already looking and updated my résumé just in case. 
Mom interested in joining another industry such as finance( such as being a financial advisor or similar in banking). I'm very good with numbers and data and have an interest in that anyway.   I'm also interested I marketing but that's even a further stretch from engineering.  

I'm probably more prepared that 80% of people but it scares me and I want to do everything right and take the best steps forward to ensure our wellbeing.