Anyone receive such letters from MBNA? They recently raised my credit limit and today I received this letter. I logged onto my mbna account directly and didn't see anything related to this. I'm not one bit interested in this and it smells like another phishing scam, but somehow it knows my full name and has the last 4 digits of my cc#.
This e-mail was sent to you by MBNA America. To ensure delivery to your inbox, please add MBNA@CardSatisfaction.com to your address book. Log in to MBNA Net Access
Re: Your account ending in XXXX.
Dear XXXXX XXXXXX,
At MBNA, protecting our customers from fraud is our top priority. As a valued customer, we would like to provide you with a complimentary credit report, which includes your personalized credit score. Simply click www.mbnaprivacyassist.com/yourreport. Registration only takes a minute.
Your credit report gives you in-depth credit information and even lets you compare your credit score to the national average. It includes:
Personalized score National ranking Personal directory of creditors Personal advice on credit score Positive/negative factors analysis
If you're thinking about making any large purchases (auto or home), this is the score lenders use to measure your credit risk -- the higher the score, the more likely you'll be approved or offered a lower interest rate.
Your informative and complete credit report and score is one more way we actively support your account with ongoing safety and security. This "thank you" credit report is being provided to you free of charge for being a valued MBNA cardholder.
Privacy Assist® products are provided by Intersections, Inc., a financial services company located in Chantilly, VA.
If you do not wish to receive e-mails that are primarily about marketing offers from MBNA America, please click here and follow the online instructions to remove your e-mail address. However, we may still send you servicing messages about your account.
Please do not reply to this e-mail, as our computer-automated system cannot process e-mail requests. If you have inquiries or comments, please write to us at MBNA America, 1100 North King Street, P.O. Box 15266, Wilmington, DE 19850
Verify your self with the URL you click, some scam show the URL(correct url) but when you click on it, it shows the different URL. That is scam. Watch out. Pay attention to the URL. Very Important
<edit> tried this and got all signed up, but couldn't complete a credit report/score 'order'. wonder if they know who was targeted with a letter offering a free one? </edit>
<edit> tried this and got all signed up, but couldn't complete a credit report/score 'order'. wonder if they know who was targeted with a letter offering a free one? </edit>
did you sign up using OPs link or through the link which you showed ?
supertle
Senior Member - 1K
posted: Sep. 23, 2005 @ 5:51p
I'm suspicious b/c it's asking for a lot of information that they should have already
mansa said: did you sign up using OPs link or through the link which you showed ?
OP link, which showed a free report at the very beginning.
supertle
Senior Member - 1K
posted: Sep. 23, 2005 @ 6:02p
ok, i went through the link in my original post and it's legitmate, it's nice but not much different then the other services out there, it's free to view for a month. It provided me one report from Equifax.
slimcustomer
Senior Member - 1K
posted: Sep. 23, 2005 @ 10:26p
Thanks op. Good offer.
mgdeals
Senior Member - 1K
posted: Sep. 23, 2005 @ 11:51p
supertle said: I'm suspicious b/c it's asking for a lot of information that they should have already
Isn't that the only way they can verify the person getting the credit report is you?
luckymndog
Member
posted: Sep. 24, 2005 @ 3:53p
MBNA Privacy Assist is a legitimate service provided by MBNA. It's the service that MBNA recommends to use for checking credit reports, and preventing fraud. There are direct links from mbna.com to mbnaprivacyassist.com, for example: Credit History and Fraud Protection.
Thanks and for the person mentioning the Charles Schwab card; I forgot it was from MBNA. Saw my score (762) for the first time. That's higher than I thought.
daturen
Member
posted: Sep. 27, 2005 @ 8:00p
bill777 said: Does it give the true FICO score?
TIA.
Looks like it's only a fAco score derived from Equifax. You can got it from PG everyday for 3 months, which costs a whopping one dollor.
Christie
Senior Member
posted: Sep. 27, 2005 @ 11:19p
After filling in everything, I couldn't see my report or the score. Also, I found a $2.95 temporary charge on my MBNA CC
someone said that we will automatically enroll in its membership, according to some find print. I did not see such find print. anybody else saw it?
happybenjamin
Senior Member
posted: Sep. 28, 2005 @ 12:34a
Christie said: After filling in everything, I couldn't see my report or the score. Also, I found a $2.95 temporary charge on my MBNA CC I have the 2.95 temp charge on my card too, though I did see my report and score. Maybe you should logout and relogin to see if it'll solve the problem.
simonhe
Member
posted: Sep. 28, 2005 @ 1:58a
I tried the link https://www.mbnaprivacyassist.com/yourreport three times (on different days) and each time it said "The site is currently busy and we are unable to take your order. [154]" after I filled in everything and clicked the submit button. Does anyone experience the same problem?
didYOUsearch
Cranky Member
posted: Sep. 28, 2005 @ 2:13a
so is this going to cost us $2.95 or what??? I dont want to go through the hassle of calling in to complain
littlehorse
New Member
posted: Sep. 28, 2005 @ 8:43a
I think if you choose online only, it will cost nothing, if you choose mail delivery, it will charge 2.95 for shipping.
rmbht
Member
posted: Sep. 28, 2005 @ 9:10a
Not true. I chose the online version... and I see the temp. authorization for $2.95 too.
welphd
Tired Member
posted: Sep. 28, 2005 @ 9:15a
rmbht said: Not true. I chose the online version... and I see the temp. authorization for $2.95 too.
temporary authorization =/= real charge. Wait 2-3 days to see if the charge goes thru (becomes posted).
bluegenie
Senior Member
posted: Sep. 28, 2005 @ 9:43a
Just talked to privacyassist, they said the $2.95 will drop off and is only temp.
CreditXpert Credit Scores(TM) are provided to help users better understand how lenders evaluate consumer credit reports. Lenders may use a different score to evaluate a person’s creditworthiness. Therefore, nothing in CreditXpert products is an endorsement or a determination of a person’s qualification for a loan, a change in loan terms or any other extension of credit by lenders. Each lender has specific underwriting standards, so a person should not assume that he or she will receive the same evaluation, credit terms or conditions from each lender. Also, CreditXpert Inc. is not connected in any way to Fair Isaac Corporation; the CreditXpert Credit Score is not a so-called FICO® score. CreditXpert Inc. does not represent that CreditXpert Credit Scores are identical or similar to any specific credit scores produced by any other company. Moreover, score changes predicted by CreditXpert products are only estimates. CreditXpert Inc. does not guarantee that credit scores from any other company will change by the same number of points, if at all.
zsu135
Senior Member
posted: Sep. 28, 2005 @ 10:34a
Does the report contain SOFT credit pulls? Thx.
welphd
Tired Member
posted: Sep. 28, 2005 @ 10:37a
zsu135 said: Does the report contain SOFT credit pulls? Thx.
tinyboy said: azntwboy said: i tried the link. doesnt work anymore? i want my free credit score!!! I applied the Providian visa card to get the free monthly credit score, but I was reject. All I got to know is that my score is not that high. Yipes! providian rejected you. Your score must be really low, I guess you will have to try orchard bank now.
Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.
Members of our community may attach files to a post in accordance with the User Agreement. FatWallet is not responsible for the content, accuracy, completeness or validity of any information contained in any attached file. Files have *not* been scanned for viruses. Be especially wary of Excel files which may contain malicious content.