• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Hi,

I really need your opinion on my situation. I just bought a used car with hail damage. It has small dents in many parts of the car. However, with its price, I couldn't resist buying it(got it for $7,500 while Black Book Trade-in is $11,400 and the engine is still in great condition!). A few mechanics I took the car to inspect quoted around $1,600-1,800 to fix the dents problem.

I now got a 31-day paper plate to drive around and after that I need to register the car with the DMV. The carfax has yet to show the hail damage in its report (does the dealer have to report that???). My problems are:

1. When I register, will the DMV check and report the hail damage if I don't fix it prior to the registration?
2. If I decide to do nothing, will I have problem with insurance company (deny to insure hail damaged vehicle/ask me to fix it before starting my policy: I am a foreign student and this will be my first car in the US)

What you guys think? Initially, I plan to do nothing with the car since I don't care about how it looks. Now I am not too sure that's the best way to go.

Thanks for all your input.

CJ

Member Summary
Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

You can insure a damaged car. You just can't file a claim to have the pre-existing damage fixed by your insurance.

I have never once had an insurance agent look at my vehicle before insuring it. The DMV in Colorado doesn't look at the car either...they don't care what it looks like. As long as it passes the emmissions test its fine...other states may be different on inspections though.

I would say you won't have a problem keeping it like that, as long as you don't mind it