• Go to page :
  • 1 2
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Hi I'm looking to start a Roth IRA, and have basically narrowed my options down to Vanguard and Fidelity, since these seem to be the two front runners. I'm relatively new to this finance game and my first question was which of the two would be the better choice?

My second question was after I pick from these 2, how should I allocate my funds? I'm sure this has been drilled 1000 times on this forum, but what are some good pieces of information/books which will tell me how to continuously keep updating my portfolio. Is buy and hold still frowned upon for the IRA/401k market? Also would there be any merit to putting money in a Vanguard/ Fidelity target retirement fund instead, and having them do the work, or is this a sucker's game?

Thanks!

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
How can one avoid the minimum balance fee for starting a new Roth IRA with Vanguard? The min balance required to avoid ... (more)

BillLumberg (Aug. 24, 2007 @ 11:40p) |

^ You are correct. You can avoid any account fees ($20/year) if you elect for electronic statements (e-service package).... (more)

Ryan (Aug. 25, 2007 @ 5:37a) |

Should a Roth IRA be opened at Vanguard or do you suggest a brokerage like etrade, td waterhouse or the free zecco.com?

NachA (Aug. 25, 2007 @ 9:06a) |

Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

I prefer Vanguard because they have lower fees and no loads on their funds, generally.

Read everything on Warren Buffett and Peter Lynch to learn how to pick stocks.

Read David Dreman's book "Contrarian investment strategies"

Read "the only investment guide you'll ever need" by Tobias

Skip the hyped "rich dad/poor dad" series.

How to allocate? 100% stocks. You are young, invest like you are young.