I have been receiving some juicy 0% APR credit card offers in the mail (snail). Some of them come from companies I have never heard of and ask for information like my social security number and credit card numbers of existing accounts for balance transfers.
So my question is how to check out the companies. For example, I received an offer for a "Black Mastercard Businesscard" from Val Corporation. A quick run through the search engines did not turn up any useful results.
It's a nice offer but not out the ordinary. The 0 APR goes through the end of '08 and the balance transfer fee is limited to $50.
To enter a coupon code in your post please enter the following info:
Coupon Code:
Coupon Offer:
Merchant:
Expires (optional):
Restrictions (optional):
saving...
Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.
Onenote said:I have been receiving some juicy 0% APR credit card offers in the mail (snail). Some of them come from companies I have never heard of and ask for information like my social security number and credit card numbers of existing accounts for balance transfers.
So my question is how to check out the companies. For example, I received an offer for a "Black Mastercard Businesscard" from Val Corporation. A quick run through the search engines did not turn up any useful results.
It's a nice offer but not out the ordinary. The 0 APR goes through the end of '08 and the balance transfer fee is limited to $50.
Bob
Don't all CC apps ask for your social security number and have the option of giving existing account numbers for balance transfers?
Interestingly, this google search result led to a "page not found" through Advanta - maybe affiliated with them somehow?
Registrant: Advanta Corporation Domain Administrator Welsh & McKean Rd. Spring House Spring House, PA 19477 US internic@advanta.com +1.2153853855 Fax: +0.0000000000
Domain Name: VALONLINENOW.COM Registrar of Record: Corporate Domains, Inc.
Administrative Contact: Advanta Corporation Domain Administrator Welsh & McKean Rd. Spring House Spring House, PA 19477 US internic@advanta.com +1.2153853855 Fax: +0.0000000000 Technical Contact: Register.com Domain Registrar 575 Eighth Avenue New York, NY 10018 US admin@internationaladmin.com +1.2127989100 Fax: +1.2127989100
I got 15K from Advanta when I hit them with a 0% (no BT fee) application.
As to where you can find info on an offer, I'd be surprised if every CC application you get via snailmail didn't have a URL to apply online. I have yet to receive a 0% offer w/o this option, and I've applied for over 60 in the last 4 years.
One quick addendum - I used the Advanta card for only 1 0% BT, and months after I paid it off, yodlee showed me a $1500 charge from singapore. I called and reported it immediately, they took care of the issue and all was well... but it's odd that I never used the card yet it was still targetted for fraud.
Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.