rated:
posted: May. 1, 2008 @ 11:34a
jayK said:Sackajacka said:It may be just what the message says -- Madison First was leasing the domain name and the owners have revoked their rights... one would assume some sort of payment dispute.Web hosting is dirt cheap, if they can't afford to pay that bill they must really be in trouble.
You are correct, although if "Great White Marketing" were the site development company they could have other bills in arrears.
I don't think that is the case, though. If you look at any of the pages that are still up Example the footer says (C) 2007 Great White Marketing. This site indicates that the companies (Madrate and GWM) are one in the same. Note that this page is a wiki and editable by anyone, so it could be incorrect.
My assumption is that Madrate a/k/a GWM a/k/a Madison First Financial is closing the doors and they are trying to sell the domain name. The text on the home page is just a bit of spin if they are in fact one in the same.
Just my wild ass guess 
Edit:
Interesting to note that the domain record for greatwhitemarketing.com was only created in Dec 2007.
Domain Name: GREATWHITEMARKETING.COM
Registrar: GoDaddy.com, INC.
Whois Server: whois.GoDaddy.com
Referral URL: http://registrar.GoDaddy.com
Name Server: NS19.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Name Server: NS20.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Status: clientRenewProhibited
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 29-dec-2007
Creation Date: 29-dec-2007
Expiration Date: 29-dec-2008
Message edited by: Sackajacka on 2008-05-01 11:36:33 CDT