• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I was wondering if anyone can shed some light on rolling a 401k into an IRA while still employed with the company providing the 401k? I ask because I want to buy a house and use some of my retirement for a down payment. I'm not interested in taking a loan out, and it looks like the taxes and penalties would be more severe than rolling the 401k over. Any advice?

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
Rollover from 401k to a Roth IRA is allowed since 2008.

BTW my company's plan allows only in-service rollover for:
- compa... (more)

SlowLoris (Jun. 02, 2008 @ 11:15p) |

Thanks for that update; forgot about that change effective 1/1/08. Here is a fatwallet thread on that topic.

fw101 (Jun. 03, 2008 @ 1:02a) |

What about people that get laid off for a period of time and draw unemployment. I work in the construction industry and... (more)

steaktaco (Jun. 03, 2008 @ 1:39a) |

Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

Terra4mer said: I was wondering if anyone can shed some light on rolling a 401k into an IRA while still employed with the company providing the 401k? I ask because I want to buy a house and use some of my retirement for a down payment. I'm not interested in taking a loan out, and it looks like the taxes and penalties would be more severe than rolling the 401k over. Any advice?
First: What did your plan administrator say when you asked? Whether you can take loans from your 401k, when you can rollover etc. are all governed by the plan documents.

Second: It would be unusual for a plan to allow a rollover to an IRA while you are still active in the plan.