Unemployment while going to school?

Archived From: Finance
  • Go to page :
  • 1 2
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Hello,

I was recently laid off from my work last week with 3 days notice and I have filed for unemployment.I am planning on going back to school next month full-time and was wondering whether or not this will effect my Unemployment benefits.

Before I was laid off, I was working part-time in the evenings from around 8 PM until 2 AM or whenever I finished with work. The hours were not very consistent every week so my hours ranged from 15 hours to 36 hours. The company was also opened weekends for me to work, this was great because I was going to school full-time during the day and if i needed a weeknight off I was able to work hours on the weekend. I have been doing this for the last 3 years and was planning to work here until I finished school. (I finish school next year)

Now that I am laid off I am concerned whether or not I will get my unemployment benefits if I say I am going back to school because it disqualifies me from working full-time.

I tried going on their website to look for the answer but I cant find it. I've tried calling the office but I'm afraid that if I say the wrong thing they will disqualify me. I am trying very hard not to use the loans I will be receiving from school on rent, food..etc because I don't want a big debt when I finish school. For the most part, I have been paying everything out of pocket (tuition, rent, food..) except for last years tuition. I don't qualify for grants because I made too much last year.

if anyone has the answer or any constructive feedback it would be greatly appreciated.

thank you

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
You could always not tell them you are going back to school...

lotusgardener (Nov. 11, 2009 @ 11:47a) |

i am having the same problem help in florida neede,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

losram08 (Nov. 11, 2009 @ 3:34p) |