BOA cc maybe I'm wrong here

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Ok newbie here but I had to post. I've been a long time cc holder at BOA. I've always heard that it raises red flags to use your cc for groceries, gas, etc. So imagine my laugh tonight when I got an email stating I can get 2 for 1 airfare by using my cc. Here's a snippet of the fine print

"To qualify for this offer, you must use your account to make at least one transaction on or before March 31, 2010 at one of the following specified merchant category codes: Gas Stations (5541-5542), Grocery Stores (5411, 5422, 5441, 5451, 5462, and 5499), Drug Stores/Pharmacies (5122, 5295, 5912) and Dry Cleaning (7216). Purchases made at a merchant that does not process transactions under these codes will not qualify and you will not receive the offer. Allow up to 10-12 weeks for after qualifying to receive your companion airfare certificate."

what do you all think of this?

Member Summary
Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

megadealmaker12 said: I've always heard that it raises red flags to use your cc for groceries, gas, etc.
Where did you hear that from? Makes no sense.

Allow up to 10-12 weeks for after qualifying to receive your companion airfare Search for companion fare deal. They are quite worthless because they all require you to buy full priced tickets which is typically 2 or 3X the price of discount ticket.

I've read that using a credit card for groceries makes u more of a credit risk

megadealmaker12 said: I've read that using a credit card for groceries makes u more of a credit risk

Please provide a link to this reading. Or cite the publication. Thank you.

are you referring to the AMEX WalMart thing, or is this something else?