• filter:
  • Go to page :
  • 123 4
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
rated:
I got a package in the mail telling me to put this flashlight in it and send it back.  I'm not doing it.  Instead, in true Fatwallet form, I will use that padded envelope in the future to mail something important.  Thanks Marlboro!  Your plan backfired!

Oh and since I'm an engineer and really really smart, Marlboro didn't take chemistry.

How do matches inside a container where there is little to no oxygen suddenly catch fire?

MIND BLOWN?

rated:
Necromancer said:   I got a package in the mail telling me to put this flashlight in it and send it back.  I'm not doing it.  Instead, in true Fatwallet form, I will use that padded envelope in the future to mail something important.  Thanks Marlboro!  Your plan backfired!

Oh and since I'm an engineer and really really smart, Marlboro didn't take chemistry.

How do matches inside a container where there is little to no oxygen suddenly catch fire?

MIND BLOWN?

Ummm....matches contain their own oxidizer (potassium chlorate ). That's one of the reasons match head bombs are possible. And yes that includes safety matches.
Safety matches don't contain phosphorus though like strike anywhere matches do. That is is embedded in the striker, that why it is safe(r) to turn the matches around so the heads are away from the striker.

p.s.  Thought the same thing about the envelope. Saved mine for later too.

rated:
Of course you could always leave the little foam piece on top of the matches like I did. I swear common sense is a thing of the past...

rated:
minitrk said:   Of course you could always leave the little foam piece on top of the matches like I did. I swear common sense is a thing of the past...
  People probably thought it was part of the "packaging" lol!  Like those same people that remove that cardboard slider inside their microwave and later find out their microwave never turns on again haha!

It's called the waveguide shield you dumbies!