DreamSpark is simple, it's all about giving students Microsoft professional-level developer and design tools at no charge so you can chase your dreams and create the next big breakthrough in technology - or just get a head start on your career.
Who can get this right now? We are kicking this off in 11 countries/regions, giving DreamSpark to millions of students in the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, China, Germany, France, Finland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Belgium. If you are not residing in one of the countries listed keep checking back, we will be adding more countries throughout the year.
This includes quite a few development programs including Virtual machine. Make sure and click view all products!
Click the link to go to the MSDN site (Microsoft developers network)
Products Available for Download
Visual Studio 2008 professional Windows Server 2003 std SQL server 2005 express Expression Studio XNA game studio 2.0 XNA creators club online Virtual Studio 2005 professional
Other free tools: Visual C# 2005 Express edition Visual C++ 2005 Express edition Visual Basic 2005 Express edition Visual Web 2005 Express edition Visual J# 2005 Express edition SQL server 2005 Developer Edition Virtual PC 2007
Actually, it's not necessary to go through VeriClick. You should have the option to e-mail a scan or fax proof to them (it's on the screen where you need to verify your school). Here are the eligibility requirements from the end of the extremely sluggish checkout process: Vendor Requirements & Agreements You must be enrolled in a degree seeking program (i.e. Associate, Bachelors, Masters, etc.) or a faculty/staff member in order to qualify to purchase academically priced versions of software or technology products.
. . .
Microsoft Requires a picture ID and a current academic verification at a degree granting or accredited institution. K-12 student sales are restricted with exception of students enrolled in school districts participating the Microsoft Student Select program or High school seniors with letter of college acceptance. Check Microsoft's Web site for further details. All free upgrade products are supplied direct from Microsoft and must be requested by the customer from Microsoft within their manufacturer guidelines.
I just emailed them a screenshot of my registration page (since I'm doing everything online I don't even have an ID) and that was OK'ed a few hours later.
brian74 said: JourneyEd.com is not very responsive -- more than 24 hour waiting and not yet verified. Should've paid $2.95...
Gage006 said: Still waiting for my verification. =/
I should have just paid the 3$...
Also Microsoft today announced that the new version of XNA Studio will allow game development on the Zune. Pretty sweet. Call them. I got an account verified email today after I called them in the morning. Still haven't received info on how to access the Dreamspark website though.
Edit: got the link to DreamSpark with serial code 02/23/2008. Downloaded goodies...
Got verification after 40 hours but no email notification. Order status shows "in warehouse", no idea what's that. I hope they send me the serial code through email ASAP.
FutureDilemma said: brian74 said: JourneyEd.com is not very responsive -- more than 24 hour waiting and not yet verified. Should've paid $2.95...
Call them. I got an account verified email today after I called them in the morning. Still haven't received info on how to access the Dreamspark website though.
Have been waiting over 48 hrs now for verification ...
Siul1979
Happy Member
posted: Feb. 22, 2008 @ 6:43a
My verification didn't go through the $3 route, so I had to send verification.
Placed my order on the 19th. On the 20th, in the morning I got an email saying they need verification. I emailed it to them immediately. On the 22nd, in the morning I got an email saying it was shipped. But I don't know what that really means because I definitely didn't get any email about how to get into dreamspark.
DrummerJoe said: Link came to me within 20 minutes of "ordering" on JourneyEd. Made sure to use my .edu email Can the other people who received the link confirm if they also used a .edu email address?
jegrant
Member
posted: Feb. 24, 2008 @ 2:29a
I just signed into DreamSpark, only to discover that Indiana University, despite its vast, vast license agreement with Microsoft, is not yet an official partner. So I had to do the JourneyEd verification. But it was free! I did not see any reference to a $2.95 charge, nor did I ever enter any payment information. I also have (a saved PDF of) a receipt on the last page of my order that shows I am charged a final price of $0.00.
So, for those who were previously prompted to pay, try again - log into DreamSpark, follow their link to JourneyEd, and enter name/birthdate/SSN on the page for free confirmation of academic status.
Thanks OP! Didn't know all these items were free. I know of at least one person who would be interested in Expression.
FutureDilemma said: DrummerJoe said: Link came to me within 20 minutes of "ordering" on JourneyEd. Made sure to use my .edu email Can the other people who received the link confirm if they also used a .edu email address?
I am getting an alert with some stupid parse error message... Is anyone else facing the same issue when trying to download? Also, I see "error" when I click the Get Key button...
any help is greatly appreciated.... btw.. I tried in firefox, ie 6, 7 and safari... same error everywhere... also, tried cleaning temp files and cookies... no help either..
I am getting an alert with some stupid parse error message... Is anyone else facing the same issue when trying to download? Also, I see "error" when I click the Get Key button...
any help is greatly appreciated.... btw.. I tried in firefox, ie 6, 7 and safari... same error everywhere... also, tried cleaning temp files and cookies... no help either..
thanks, pal I had the same, could nly resolve it by registering a different email address
Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.
Members of our community may attach files to a post in accordance with the User Agreement. FatWallet is not responsible for the content, accuracy, completeness or validity of any information contained in any attached file. Files have *not* been scanned for viruses. Be especially wary of Excel files which may contain malicious content.