• Go to page :
  • 1 2
  • Text Only
whuzizname said:   zatires said:   Terrestrial radio has been free forever as well, but Pandora et al really can not match the flexibility of Sirius, and even for $90/year it is a great deal imo.

Actually, Pandora and its ilk are more flexible than satellite radio because you create your OWN radio station. Sat radio is very much like terrestrial radio in that you have to pick from whatever stations are available.

On Pandora I created a "Gregorian Chant" station. There is no way to do that on terrestrial or sat radio.

I know this is an apples/oranges comparison.

I never want to listen to "Gregorian Chant" hours and hours at a time

But different joy for different folks no doubt.

Yesterday on SiriusXM I heard the cover of "Stand By Me" by John Lennon and it was an amazing version, first time I heard it in my life, and I have been listening to this stuff for the last 30+ years.
I don't even think Pandora will have this song or play it at all with whatever channel I can create.
And today on the way to work I heard U2's cover of Everlasting Love, a song that I never ever heard on terrestrial radio or Pandora or any other online music service.
That is why the variety of content that a service like SiriusXM offers is not directly comparable to other music/radio services.

Just called, took a few hang ups and call backs to finally get a good Retention Employee who was willing to make a good deal. I went with the 5/$25 deal, and she did some adjustments to throw internet at half-off or less. I paid total $35 for the 5 months plus internet. That particular plan supposedly calls for a Credit card to be on file for auto-renewal, and I didn't question it the on the last employee because I had been going around and around with the other employees on it previously. I will just set up a Calender alert on my phone to call back on my renewal date to try to get the deal again.