• Page :
  • 1
  • Text Only
rated:

I was shopping around for TurboTax and I came across this site- blvdsoftware.com. I searched and couldn’t find any reviews (good or bad). I even found a coupon code for Home & Business for $5 off. They also have other Intuit software. Here are the links… Let me know what you guys think.

Deluxe $32.95

Premier $52.95

Home & Business $56.95

Intuit Page PC and Mac


Member Summary

TurboTax 2011 (7.14kB)
Thanks BMWLVR82
Disclaimer

 

Staff Summary
  • Also categorized in:
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

I would not purchase it through this site. It looks sketchy and the domain was registered recently "Record created on 23-Oct-2011".


After reading your response, I researched more and found out that they changed the name from .us to .net, and now it's .com. That could be a red flag as well. I searched the name without the domain and found that it was posted on SD at the beginning of last year. Some of the users there downloaded without any problems. I was hoping to get more feedback on it, but oh well... It looked like a good deal, so I wanted to run it by my fellow FWteers!


Its a SCAM. The address they have listed is a box.


I too was interested in TurboTax Home & Business, looked for complaints but couldn't find anything. Has anyone actually bought TT from them?


I tried purchasing TurboTax 2011 from this site. the download link did not work. Each time I clicked on the DL link, it only tried to download the web page itself, not the software. I contacted the seller via the given support email address. The person responding was childish and insulting and repeatedly insisted the only problem was I did not know how to use a DL link which is totally absurd.

My first email to the vendor:

when i try to download, the download webpage html is what downloads rather than the software i purchased. what's with that ?
-------

Vendor's reply:

That is correct. This web page has your download link. Open it in your browser to download your software.
--------

My response:

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY !!!

when i am on the download page of your site and click "start download" button what transfers is an html file of your wepage not the software.
------

Vendor's reply:

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY. Open the HTML file in your web browser and you will have a link to download your software.
--------

It only went downhill from there. The vendor shortly after disabled my download link.
Do you really want to do business with someone who responds like this ?

I never got the software and cancelled the transaction. Don't waste your time or money.


Thought I'd add my $0.02 to this discussion, since someone else might be trying to download TurboTax soon. I read this discussion, and despite joefridaythegreat's comments I decided to go ahead and try it anyway.

I purchased TurboTax through blvdsofware, using an online coupon that I found to save an additional 5%. I was prompted to use Google Checkout, which I trust to protect my info and not be a scam. Got the purchase confirmation e-mail, and clicked the "view order" to try to get the download link. When I tried to download it, I and was able to get the file without a lot of hassle. As joefridaythegreat indicated, the first file that it offers you is an .html file. I selected "open with firefox" when it tried to download that initial file, and it opened a download webpage. That page had a download link to an .exe file, which was about 85 MB. I saved that one to my computer. When I tried to open it, Windows gave me a warning that the file was "unsigned", which I ignored. I think that warning may be just because the site rezipped the installer themselves. I run AVG antivirus, and got no warning about this program. When I ran it, it pulled up the official TurboTax installer, and I was able to install the software just fine.

So, YMMV, but I don't think this site is a scam. Usability is not the greatest, though.




Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.

Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

While FatWallet makes every effort to post correct information, offers are subject to change without notice.
Some exclusions may apply based upon merchant policies.
© 1999-2013