Voting History
rated:

Member Summary

da drive
Thanks Redbeard25
Disclaimer
Staff Summary
  • Also categorized in:
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

These were the drives that had a lot of problems.

VirtuaL said:   These were the drives that had a lot of problems.

Here we go again.... Everyone repeats what they hear with no first hand experience...

Richardito said:   VirtuaL said:   These were the drives that had a lot of problems.

Here we go again.... Everyone repeats what they hear with no first hand experience...

You are right!
I have been using this for almost two years now. No problem at all.
Good price.

Richardito said:   VirtuaL said:   These were the drives that had a lot of problems.

Why go through the trouble of first-hand experience (pain), when nearly 30% of Newegg buyers report DOA or failures early in drive usage?

Unless your data isn't important to you, move along. Nothing to see here.

The Seagate 7200.11 has one of the highest failure rate as reported by a Russian report by Storelab. I have read a few other articles regarding problems with the 7200.11 drive. I have the 7200.12 and three 7200.14 models, these caused no problems.

If everybody uses reliability studies, then nobody would buy any cars except the Japanese cars. It is a matter of probability and other factors.

VirtuaL is making a statement with good intention. The question is that if we have to have first hand experience to make any statement?

The most common problem with these drives was faulty firmware and those with this problem died soon. This drive does come with a two year warranty, longer than some of the newer drives Seagate sells. Maybe they've fixed the firmware by now. At any rate, most of the failures should be covered by the warranty. Any drive drive can fail. Keep everything important backed up.