• Go to page :
  • 1 2
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I have no personal experience with this company, but I noticed the following article in Consumer Reports magazine, February 2013 issue, page 12, and I thought this offer might be interesting to some FW members.

===============================================================================
Article title:

When it pays, literally, to lose weight

Selected excerpts from the article:

...[W]hat if you could make money by losing weight?

That's the idea behind HealthyWage, a company that runs "health incentive programs" in which participants get cash rewards for meeting weight-loss goals.

There's the "10% Challenge" in which you put up $100 and get $200 if you lose 10 percent of your starting weight in six months.

And there's the "BMI Challenge" which is free to enter and pays $100 if you get your body mass down from obese to healthy in 12 months. If you put up $300, you can win up to $1000 for meeting that goal.

...(And if you fail, of course, the company pockets your money, too.)

It's funded by advertising dollars from insurance companies, health-care systems, and food companies, plus it gets some goverment money.

The company's website:

http://www.healthywage.com/

A box on the main page of their website says:

"Total money won: $430,000. Total weight lost: 866,500 pounds"

"As featured in Time, Washington Post, ABC News, Huffington Post, Fox News"

Member Summary

Lose Weight
Thanks Wemic
Disclaimer
Most Recent Posts
If you're in this program, or thinking about it, you might want to check out this post I just found:
http://www.fatwallet... (more)

imnotsanenow (Mar. 22, 2013 @ 8:56p) |

Down 6%!

dougtaylor1 (Mar. 30, 2013 @ 1:12a) |

Good job Dougtaylor!

---
I haven't weighed myself since I last posted here, but I can tell that I have not lost any more... (more)

NantucketSunrise (Apr. 10, 2013 @ 12:04a) |

Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

interesting